What I’ve Really Learned in 6 Months with Launch School

Eliathah Boda
Launch School
Published in
2 min readJan 25, 2017

I’ve been a student at Launch School for a bit over 6 months now. During that time I’ve learned lots of valuable skills specific to the craft of writing software. I’ve also learned some other things.

Here are some of those other things…

I’ve learned that I’m not as smart as I thought I was.

I’ve learned that that doesn’t really matter; that attitude, mindset and a commitment to steady improvement are more important.

I’ve learned that it sounds cute when someone says that, but you don’t really believe it until you’re able to solve problems you never thought you’d be able to solve, with the same number of IQ points you’ve always had, simply because you practiced a better approach to problem solving.

I’ve learned that I came into Launch School with a big ego. That I wanted to think I had something substantial to show for all the time I had put into my prior, self-guided learning. The truth is, I didn’t. That still hurts a little.

I’ve learned that it’s easy to think you’ve bought into the Mastery Based approach without actually having bought into it.

I’ve learned that uncovering the secrets of the Mastery Based approach is a journey of Mastery in and of itself, independent of the skill that you’re applying it to.

I’ve learned that letting go of deadlines is extremely hard.

I’ve learned that letting go of deadlines is actually impossible if you don’t find a way to remove the obstacles that will prevent you from being able to take your time (money’s the big one here for most of us).

I’ve learned that it’s a lot easier to let go of deadlines (and remove those obstacles) once you realize that every single skill you become proficient in each step of the way is immediately valuable to someone else somewhere. Whether it’s tutoring some poor lost soul you meet at a meetup, writing content for a Launch School course (nice job Karl), doing subcontract work for some sales focused “developer” who promises things to his clients he doesn’t have the slightest clue how to build, or just being a better problem solver in the job you already have. Everything you learn is applicable and maybe even worth some money RIGHT NOW!

I’ve learned that I actually “knew” everything I’m saying here right from the beginning because it was repeated over and over again by instructors, in the courses and in the book ‘Mastery’.

Basically, I’ve learned that I learn the hard way.

What about you?

--

--

Eliathah Boda
Launch School

Obsessive dabbler. Web developer at 32Waves working with Rails, Node and React.