Entrepreneur Spotlight: Katie Kimble

Madeline Mehler
LaunchNET Kent State
6 min readFeb 27, 2017
Katie Kimble modelling her handmade jewelry

I sat down with Katie Kimble, 21, to talk about her experience with entrepreneurship and the development of her venture, Beach Blonde Blue Bikini.

So what is your business pitch? What exactly do you do?

I design and make handmade jewelry using mixed metals, natural stones, chain and crystals; blending vintage and modern elements to give your everyday style a fresh and flirty look with pieces made to mix and stack.

Sorority Belle, my freshwater pearl sorority jewelry line, just launched in January. Celebrating the Panhellenic Spirit of beauty, character, leadership and sophistication, each handmade Sorority Belle Freshwater Pearl Charm Bracelet comes with a hand-stamped heart charm with the sorority’s letters.

So how did you get the idea for BBBB?

I woke up in the middle of the night and…

No, no. In truth, it just kind of evolved. My mom started teaching me the mechanics of making jewelry and I just had a knack for colors, textures, mix and balance. I have been out and had women ask if I got a piece from Sundance (which to me is a great compliment) and some have asked if they could buy something I was wearing. So, I thought… maybe this could be a thing.

What is unique about BBBB?

There are so many talented jewelry designers, so finding a common thread to make something for a niche market was key. Sorority Belle is that line. The freshwater pearls are paired with sterling silver and have a fresh and sophisticated look. A hand-stamped heart charm with the sorority’s letters and a pearl dangle make it a perfect, personalized gift for any sorority girl. The price point, at just $29 keeps it “college girl friendly.” As a Greek licensed vendor, a percent of every sale goes back to the national chapter for each sorority sale.

What development got you to your “eureka moment”?

Paying attention. As far as the Sorority Belle line, I found that girls want to wear something that is special, sentimental, meaningful. Pearls. Pearls. Pearls — a staple accessory for a sorority girl. I couldn’t really find anything that combined quality, personalization, and price. So, I decided I was going to do it.

What is the biggest barrier that you had to overcome, or are currently overcoming?

There isn’t really one big thing but many small things. Licensing takes time and money, and both of those things are a luxury. Licensing requires an application fee for the approval of each sorority individually. It was really important to me to be able to have the Sorority Belle bracelet available here at Kent State. So, starting out, I am representing all the sororities on Kent State’s campus. I’ve been contacted by a friend at an out-of-state college about doing two bracelets for her. But, I don’t have licensing approval for her sorority as yet. I had to tell her that if I can get a pre-order for twenty or more bracelets, I could do it. I have to consider the costs just to become approved for each sorority.

Negotiating pricing on materials is tough when you are starting out and holding a lot of stock materials is risky yet you need to be able to capitalize on a deal when someone is willing to work with you. I was saving for a down payment on a car, but instead, my entire savings account can be seen in one cabinet, housing lots of beads, clasps, charms.

How do you persevere with your venture in times of discouragement?

I don’t really know that I get discouraged. Most anyone who knows me would agree that I don’t give up easily. What I get is focused. Now that I dipped my toe in the water on this venture, I find that there are other opportunities. There is more than just one type of customer with whom my jewelry connects. That’s both encouraging and frustrating as it is hard to be everything to everyone. I have two other lines developing right now and both have a specific customer connection.

What is your favorite part about being an entrepreneur?

As a person with scattered interests, being an entrepreneur somehow makes that seem reasonable! I have several idea notepads going at once and as a new piece of the puzzle becomes clearer, I jot it down. Some ideas have crashed and burned but never without a “silver lining moment.”

I also love supporting other entrepreneurs. I am a “shop small” kind of girl, and I have met some of the most inspirational entrepreneurial thinkers and doers that way.

Who is your biggest entrepreneurial inspiration?

Honestly, this is a difficult question because I am literally surrounded by inspiration. There are those big, global influences of course, but what really drives me are those who are, in their own every day way, making things happen locally. They are also the kind that believe that more than one person can be successful so they don’t bog themselves down with jealousy over the success of others. Instead, they use that energy and knowledge to propel their ventures and they are the ones who look to be good community partners and open, supportive collaborators with emerging entrepreneurs.

What advice would you give to other people looking to develop a new idea?

Do not overthink. Go explore it. Identify who could benefit from your idea and get their opinion. See if you can get some legs on an idea but do not take things personally if your idea doesn’t materialize. Pick yourself up and keep moving. If you had one idea, you’ll surely have another. You don’t have to have a new idea either. Perhaps your idea is improving on a product or service that already exists. Be open. Explore. Have fun.

How do you create your product, start to finish?

It depends. Currently, our dining room table has piles of beads and chain sitting on it. It’s our take on Legos! Haha!

A lot of inspiration comes from color or a particular bead or charm. I try to create pieces that you can build on. I have “go-to” sterling silver and natural stone jewelry that I made five years ago. Women comment on those pieces regularly. They have staying power.

But, I do love trends. However, I don’t like spending a lot of money on things that I know I won’t care about six or eight months down the road. I have found that others agree. So, to make pieces affordable and still current, fun and flirty, I may side with using some copper and brass metals instead of all sterling silver for instance.

How does a typical interaction with a client go?

I am really early in this new business stage so most of the interaction is through pop-ups or open house events, but I have worked with a few brides who wanted to have a special (and affordable) jewelry gift for their bridesmaids.

One of the best interactions was working with a customer who had one necklace that she got from her mother when she got married. It was her honeymoon send-off necklace! Anyway, she loved telling the story about it and it was sentimental to her. The value of the necklace was in the story not necessarily the beads. My mom and I created three bracelets for her granddaughters; combining the vintage beads from the original piece and modern elements to make it cool, hip. What resulted was a unique gift: an extremely meaningful and equally sentimental gift. They each had a piece of the story.

How do you provide your products to these clients?

Through my website www.beachblondebluebikini.com and through pop-up shop opportunities. My first ever individual collaborative event is on Monday, March 20 with Emma Kennell of Carnaby Street Style in Downtown Kent. Emma is definitely a successful and inspirational entrepreneur. She is constantly evolving. She knows her customers. She makes the shopping experience memorable. You actually feel good spending money in her (affordable) and charming boutique. She is the real deal. She loves what she does.

I am thrilled to be partnering up with her for this public event showcasing her fun Spring finds and my Spring/Summer jewelry. We are going to have raffles and snacks too, so don’t miss it. Shop anytime between 5–8!

How do you like your coffee?

Iced Mochas from Tree City Coffee for the win!

What kind of music do you listen to?

I love, love country music. There is so much storytelling in it. Country concert? I’m in. Cowgirl boots? 5 pairs! Country Mega Tickets? Umm…of course! I am going to Nashville this summer and I cannot wait.

Lastly, what’s your favorite piece of jewelry to wear?

It really depends on the outfit. But, one of my favorite pieces is a bracelet my mom made actually. I’m pretty sentimental so it kinda makes me feel like I have her support and energy for the day when I pop it on!

You can find Katie showcasing her products at Carnaby Street Style, March 20 from 5–8PM, and at LaunchNET’s upcoming pop-up shop at Yogurt Vi, April 27th from 6–9PM.

--

--