The best hotels in London long to be The Dorchester

Laura Metze
Luxury Travel
Published in
5 min readMar 26, 2020
The Incomparable Dorchester London’s promenade. Photo courtesy of the Dorchester Collection.

The need to run away is old and quintessentially human. The call to adventure has been given romantic names like wanderlust. Those who seek it are called wayfarers in soulful songs and sayings such as “not all who wander are lost” are printed on coffee mugs. But why? Because the drive for uncommon experiences is insatiable. We need to leave the usual in order to live unusually for a while. Each time we do, our consciousness expands; we leave better than when we arrived. I can say with certainty that those who are now dreaming of future luxury travel as a way of experiencing more of what our incredible world has to offer should look to a classically understated building topped by 3 union jack flags at the end of Hyde Park — The Dorchester, London.

Follow the author to be notified when new luxury travel articles are published.

The Dorchester Suite lounge. Photo courtesy of the Dorchester Collection.

The Dorchester Suite & what comes with it

The Dorchester is the most beautiful hotel in London and the suite that is deserving enough to bear its name is worthy of a spot on the world’s “must-see when wanderlust hits” list. I am confident in my bold claim as I’ve both seen and experienced this remarkable hotel and its Dorchester Suite as well as countless others in my favourite city in the world, London.

It’s not just the carefully chosen texture of the armchairs, the toile wallpaper or the heavy fabrics draping beds that make this sanctuary lovely, though, it is the remarkable standard of care as well. It’s a standard to which many aspire, but that this hotel can claim. When one joins the two — the beauty of painstakingly fashioned surroundings and the obviously authentic pleasure the staff takes in pampering guests — the title of “best hotel in London” seems an easy conclusion.

The bedroom with canopied bed in the Dorchester Suite. Photo courtesy of the Dorchester Collection.
The marble bathroom in the Dorchester Suite. Photo courtesy of the Dorchester Collection.

A look inside

David, my ever-present travel companion, best friend and husband, was pleased during our room introduction. I could tell because he looked ready to exclaim his approval, but didn’t for the sake of decorum. As our pleasant check-in host left us to get settled, David nodded approvingly. I smiled back and headed directly to the picture windows to see our view of leafy Hyde Park which stretched out further than I expected. In fact, my pre-stay research didn’t prepare me for the perfection this suite held. Simply put, I loved it all from the top-to-bottom marble in the bathroom to the overstuffed sofas in the lounge. Rarely does a room speak to me as this one did!

Dorchester roses. Photo by Laura Metze.

Smoked salmon and Dorchester roses

Not long afterward, our butler arrived at the door. He asked what I would like in such a way that I felt he really wanted to know, not because it was his job, but because he would take joy in providing it. I told him I’d like smoked salmon (to satisfy a nagging, week-long craving). Within a half an hour from wishing it, my salmon was served to me on a china plate. In the interim, I’d been admiring the rose bouquet on the dining table. The roses were of the same pale pink hue as the explosion of flora arranged to exacting perfection in the promenade downstairs. I gave the petals a squeeze between my fingers before I was convinced the dainty flowers were real, although in retrospect the light fresh scent should have given me my answer. I feel I was justified though, as photos of Dorchester roses online don’t quite convey the exquisite beauty these dainty petals held.

Cut at 45 Park Lane

The Dorchester London has several extraordinary restaurants inside including Alain Ducasse at The Dorchester, proud bearer of three Michelin stars. In addition, just across the street is another hotel and restaurant option, 45 Park Lane, a distinctively Art Deco-styled member of the Dorchester Collection. It was to Cut at 45 Park Lane that we ventured for a culinary journey later that evening.

Cut’s signature dishes are steak- and seafood-based, but don’t feel limited by the menu when you dine here (and you must). I prefer vegetarian or pescetarian options and should I have stuck to vegetarian that night, it wouldn’t have limited my choices at all; the chef was delighted to oblige (an attitude I very much appreciate). After a brief look through the menu, neither one of us could decide and so we asked the chef and our server to choose. What followed was a blur of unbelievably delicious small portions of salads, starters, sides and entrees. My yellowfin tuna was edible art. David felt the same about his seafood risotto. The creamed spinach was the best I’ve had, ever. We finished the night with half portions of perfectly pear-shaped Baked Alaska and stumbled out the door, filled to the brim, sure we’d just had a meal we’d use to judge every other meal to come.

Live Dorchester roses in the promenade. Photo by Laura Metze.

Breakfast and gold standard service

In the morning, we took breakfast in the promenade on cushioned benches under parlour palms. I adore porridge with honey; The Dorchester’s is particularly creamy. The tea was unusually good, so much so that I asked our server where I could buy it. He nodded to the manager who explained it was their proprietary blend, created by the famous East India Trading Company. I must have looked crestfallen, because he excused himself and returned with a cup of tea leaves for me to take home. I was delighted, not just with my take-away treasure, but with the people behind The Dorchester name.

My recommendation

Begin to plan now to stay as long as you can at The Dorchester in London. They are what all five-star hotels strive to be. My words can only bring you there in your imagination. I insist you see The Dorchester for yourself!

Thank you!

Thank you, Caroline Keane, for thoughtfully and expertly handling all my travel arrangements at The Dorchester and Cut at 45 Park Lane.

--

--

Laura Metze
Luxury Travel

Laura Metze, a passionate traveller & travel writer, has covered 280+ luxury hotels worldwide over 13 years. Exploring castles is her favourite pastime.