How to organize a life

Laura Amber
Laura Amber
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2018

In case you’re ambitious

Hi there! First of all, I want to share something personal: why this?

Well, it all begins with my real anxiety with thoughts that are about the sensation of feeling that I’m losing my time, or not improving as much as I could, that started to hit me hard almost a year ago. I wasn’t definitely on my best time. My perception about the world was a mix between being a hater, hope about things to get better, fake illusions, frustration and overwhelming. Deep inside I wanted to give my best but I felt I wasn’t on the correct environment for that, for growing, for learning. Anyway, I was there because I chose to be there, until I decided that was gonna change.

The case is that I knew that wasn’t gonna be the first time I was gonna feel like that. I can’t change how the world and society works, but I can change how I perceive it and deal with it. I can choose how I deal with everything.

I’m a sensitive, reactive and emotional person and those are not good cards for this cruel and stupid world, so I knew I had to work on that. I started to read on the internet about self-development and psychology, beside other topics. I wanted to understand myself and my emotions, so I could understand everything (and everyone) in a better way, and manage myself in a healthy way. I also joined to a gym and obviously kept taking care of my diet, to maintain my hormonal levels ok while I worked on the core, that was mainly my perception and reaction, and changing my daily environment.

TED Talks, Medium, the Internet in general and books made me discover incredible people, such as Ryan Holiday, Stephen R. Covey and Tim Ferris.

These last months, I developed a weekly schedule to manage my life with the goal of not just letting time pass by: letting a whole life pass by, without enjoying it, doing what I love, or doing things that make me feel fullfilled.

Ask to yourself: What do I want from life?

In my case, I know I want to improve my workout performance. I know I want to be a better designer. I know I don’t want a company job to fill my life from Monday to Friday. I know I want to travel. I know I want to spend more time with or know more people. I know I want to love and appreciate myself, now and forever. I don’t want we to get to 2019 and look back and see that I’ve spend another year just working for someone that isn’t me. Those are my WHY.

My personal weekly planner

If my 25 y/o me had to give an advice that would be:

Forget the expectations.

Just keep on working, every single day, with little steps, to achieve your goals, and after that, set another one. And don’t be focused on just an area of your life, but divide it (professional, personal, health…) and have big goals for each one of them. Once you have them, divide them into smaller ones. Those little goals will make you set a direction and your decisions will be oriented toward achieving them. But the most important thing is don’t get obsessed. Enjoy the journey. Keep on feeding your inner fire. OWN YOUR LIFE AND BE RESPONSIBLE OF IT. Be your own captain. And be flexible.

Extra: My father told me “you have become a resilient” time later, when I shared all this with him. That’s how I am now, because I work every day on that, because that’s what I choose.

--

--