Memphis Planning project

Laura Amber
Laura Amber
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2018

Greywise Consultancy BV intern product

What is Greywise?

Greywise is an independent consultancy company with decades of experience in the food industry. We are hired by our customers because of our knowledge of IT solutions and how these can best be used in production. We help production companies to determine their IT strategy, the selection of the right software suppliers and the implementation of the new systems. (…)

How did I get this project?

One day I got featured in Android via Dribbble without knowing it. One day I received an email from Amsterdam. A Business Analyst had contacted me because he had seen that featured shot. He was working on a multisite planningstool for the company he worked for and he wanted that intern product to look exactly like the project from the Dribbble shot. I was unexperienced and insecure but motivated so I accepted. This happened on December 2016, when my knowledge about this was a finished Graphic Design career and 8-weeks in-class UX/UI classes.

So hands-on the work!

The featured shot
The intern product UI start point

The process

During the process, we date a weekly Skype call, where we discussed the visual behaviours and interactions (if they were friendly for the user, what was correct and ok and what needed to be thought again, some brainstorming, some goals for the next week, etc).

As first step I decided to apply Material Design guidelines and if you’re curious about what was the first approach, it looked exactly like this:

First UI approach

But we found problems. We couldn’t use the same styles the Android app had. Why? We needed to differentiate one kind of task or project status from the other ones, basically.

Just blue? No way, that doesn’t work. What about adding colors? Ok, now it looks like a Carnival party.

You can notice I didn’t even use symbols… #facepalm

This was the solution where I get until I got a full-time job and he made a trip:

More than a year has passed since I started and left this project. I found the archive a month ago and truth is I really like it so why not sharing it and how I got where I got.

Hope you like it!

--

--