In the Midst of Data Collection

--

It is hard to believe that we are into the sixth week of data collection with only 2 more to go! As a reminder, I am researching the following question: “Will using a primary caregiver structure in the Toddler/Twos classroom result in a more positive experience for teachers, students and families?” I have collected parent surveys and attitude scales (6 of 7 returned), teacher surveys and attitude scales (3 of 3 returned) and have been spending at least 1 hour three times a week observing and taking field notes in the classroom. Each observation is followed by a brief reflection and the completion of teacher and student activity charts.

So what am I noticing as I piece through all of the interactions I see in the classroom? I often find that through my observations I begin to problem solve issues that may arise. For example, one morning there seemed to be a lot of unfocused activity in the classroom, with children wandering from area to area with more than usual negative behaviors resulting. I took note that on this particular morning there had not been an activity set out to interest children upon arrival. Although there were many toy selections available for children to choose from, these items were on the shelves. Following the observation I shared my notes with the opening teacher. The next two mornings this teacher has made it a point to have an interest area or two set out to engage children when they arrive. This has met with good results in more focused and independent play (from 7 instances of classroom wandering down to 2 and 1 on subsequent days and from 1 instance of independent, focused play to 3 on each subsequent day). I realize that this data does not necessarily show an impact of the primary caregiver system, and yet it has proved helpful to classroom dynamics.

With regards to the test variable of primary caregiving, I have noted that it has eased some transitions at times, particularly when readying to go outside. As each teacher can focus on only three children and head out when all are ready, it has alleviated some of the frenzy associated with this change of location. As the teachers continue to dive deeper into the new structure I will be alert to further positive (or negative) changes. I am especially eager for teacher feedback at the end of our research period. In addition to the completion of post-study surveys and attitude scales I want to add an interview to the methodology in this phase.

--

--