Boomers — You’re Wearing Zoom Out and We’re Tired of It

Sincerely, the Millennials

Jyn Lynk
Connections

--

Photo by Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

I am TIRED of Zoom meetings. While I appreciate the way people have taken advantage of technology during this time, we need to chill with all the video calls! What I find interesting is the fact that this technology is not new. We have had the ability to do video calls for a while now. However, before Covid-19, conference calls and regular phone calls were acceptable.

Why has that changed???

I have a theory.

This is a trauma response.

Since the shelter at home orders, my family, who is not particularly close when it comes to visiting each other, has had a family zoom call. My mom has demanded that we use google duo and may be slightly offended that I told her I need a heads up before we do a video call.

Again, this technology has been around and available to us for well over ten years. Thus, my theory that this is a trauma response. I think for the older generation specifically, seeing faces makes them feel connected, perhaps.

At first, I got it, although I still didn’t participate in my family zoom. I did video call my mom though. But after eight weeks of zoom calls, I am done, unless it is for work.

--

--

Jyn Lynk
Connections

Becoming the best version of myself in life, love and law, realizing that living life is the gray area. email: jynlynk@gmail.com