POETRY

My Brother, My Friend

A poem to my big brother who passed into The Great Unknown

Rachael Ann Sand
Connections
Published in
3 min readJun 11, 2020

--

Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

My brother passed into The Great Unknown at age fifteen. Written when I was in middle school, this poem is a tribute to his memory.

You are more than a brother to me, it took your death to make me see

You are my friend and our friendship will never end

I remember the high dive, falling through the air I felt so alive

I never would have taken the chance if you hadn’t given me that glance

That promising look that told me I was safe, you’d watch out for me as you still do today

So many times I was afraid it took only your words, so easy to trust, to put me at ease

Now I wish I would have thanked you before you left, and remembered to ask please

It often never occurred to me to ask because you knew what I needed, and the thank you didn’t seem necessary because it was so natural, you were always there for me

You threw me gentle passes and let me run with the football, you never lost patience helping me learn to hit when the game was baseball

You were willing to be on my team, even though you knew I wasn’t one of the best, you…

--

--

Rachael Ann Sand
Connections

Passionate about the next generation of all living things. Sharing life lessons & experiences with humor and love. https://ko-fi.com/rachaelann