FOOD SYSTEMS

Why I Ate A Scorpion

Eating insects may be good for you and the planet

Rachael Ann Sand
Connections
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2020

--

Source: Photo of author. ©Rachael Ann Sand.

Several years ago I was photographed taking a bite of a scorpion snack in a friend’s backyard. Bread, cream cheese, and a big black arachnid. I ate everything except the claws. It was … interesting.

en·to·moph·a·gy /ˌen(t)əˈmäfəjē/ noun: the practice of eating insects, especially by people.

My friends were experimenting with starting a business raising crickets and making them into food. They hosted a party to announce their new endeavor in entomophagy. When they asked for three volunteers to eat giant scorpions my hand flew up immediately. Although their business focus was crickets, enormous scorpions were more visually attention-grabbing and in the same broad category — bugs.

One of the enthusiastic entrepreneurs, Michael, raised scorpions as a hobby. I had been a pet sitter when he traveled, feeding live crickets to his scorpions. It was oddly fascinating watching the scorpions hunt and eat. I never imagined I’d be eating them, though. Have you, or would you, eat a bug?

After munching on the scorpion, it wasn’t a big deal to sample granola made with cricket flour. It was high in protein and tasted like… granola. I…

--

--

Rachael Ann Sand
Connections

Passionate about the next generation of all living things. Sharing life lessons & experiences with humor and love. https://ko-fi.com/rachaelann