3 Things I would have done Differently: Reflections from a 3L in their Final Semester

Madison Bell
Law School Life and Beyond
3 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

In the blink of an eye, I am gearing up for my final semester of law school at the University of Ottawa, Faculty of Law. The past two and a half years have been incredible, challenging and rewarding.

As I reflect on my law school experience, there are a few things I wish I had done sooner:

1. Get familiar with rejection.

Early in my first year of law school, I applied to be a Research Assistant, and I was devastated when I didn’t hear back. I applied for more opportunities and was continuously unsuccessful. Instead of trying to learn from these experiences, I took these rejections personally and was convinced I was a lousy law student. In reality, law school is competitive because it is comprised of wonderful, unique, and intelligent individuals who all bring something different to the table.

Even in 3L, I will apply for some opportunities and be unsuccessful. Now, I will contact employers and seek feedback on my applications and use it going forward. There is no shame in not getting selected for an opportunity. Instead, seek feedback on your applications and learn how to move forward by booking meetings with mentors and members from your Career and Professional Development office.

2. Step outside my comfort zone.

At the outset, I assumed my career would be in constitutional law because of my previous government experience and my undergraduate degree in Political Science.

I thought I could only be successful in an area of law if I obtained prior knowledge outside of law school. I feared entering spaces and attending events where I could not confidently add to the conversation. Looking back, I wish I attended more events and lecture series in 1L and 2L where I could learn about unfamiliar areas of the law.

During the 2L Toronto recruit, I was skeptical about whether working in Biglaw would be a good fit since I was not immediately drawn to most of the predominant practice groups. Despite my hesitation, I successfully secured a summer position at WeirFoulds LLP. My summer experience was transformative, and it’s where I learned how much I enjoy regulatory and employment law.

3. Accept and be content with where I am.

All law students can relate to thinking, “I’ll be happy when I achieve my next goal.”

We all worked tirelessly to get into law school, but once we got here, we learned quickly that there is more to achieve, more to gain and more to do to set ourselves apart.

I think having ambition is a great trait, but I was never content with my achievements or how well I managed my workload. Once I secured my summer job or clerkship position, I immediately searched for the next opportunity. I was in a cycle of burnout and disappointment. I wish in 1L and 2L, I gave myself more pats on the back for everything I could do, no matter how small I thought the achievement was.

--

--

Madison Bell
Law School Life and Beyond

Juris Doctor Candidate, University of Ottawa Faculty of Law 2024