5 Tips for Moving into your Law School Apartment

Michal Kolet
Law School Life and Beyond
4 min readAug 23, 2022

So, you got into law school! Now what? For a lot of incoming 1Ls, this new chapter includes moving to a brand-new city and figuring out the rollercoaster that is apartment hunting, moving and ultimately living in this new place. This process can be daunting and stressful, so here are a few tips that worked well for me and will hopefully ease the transition of moving into your new apartment for law school!

1. Start looking for places early.

I began looking for my law school apartment about four months before school was supposed to start. I had a pretty solid idea of what I was looking for during my search, so I found that starting early helped me find and compare a number of different options before making a final decision without feeling rushed or overwhelmed. I also had a good idea of the price point I wanted to pay for rent, so giving myself an ample amount of time helped me find something that wasn’t breaking the bank but still met all my requirements. Finally, starting your apartment search early will help you avoid scrambling in late July and August which is when you’ll typically start receiving actual information about law school orientation and your 1L year. These last few weeks before you move will likely be hectic and emotional so the last thing you want to be stressing about is still not having a place to live.

2. Save up and stick to your budget.

For anyone moving to a new place for law school, there are some major costs involved, so it’s helpful to plan out your finances to ensure you’re as financially comfortable as possible before, during, and after the move. Some of the expenses you’ll likely need to consider include rent, utilities, moving costs, furniture, and living expenses. Creating a detailed monthly budget is something I’ve been doing for the past few years, and I find that it works well in organizing and keeping track of my expenses. There are many online templates for Microsoft Word & Excel that you can use to get started, as well as a number of apps on your phone that can be used for budgeting, so choose the best option for you and make sure you’re updating this budget regularly. Planning out and sticking to a budget is also a great way to avoid some financial stress and ensure you’re able to place the majority of your focus on law school and the all the work you’ll be doing throughout the year.

3. Give yourself time to adjust.

Moving to a new city and starting law school is a massive change and is going to take some time for you to get used to everything. Moving to your new place a while before school is set to start will give you the opportunity to organize your living arrangements and build up a routine that you can take into the new school year to help you succeed. I ended up moving in about one week prior to 1L orientation and this gave me time to build furniture, set up my apartment, and generally get comfortable in my new space. This also allowed me to get used to a morning routine and practice making time for some habits that I’m hoping to maintain as school gets going. Lastly, moving in early helped me avoid any unnecessary stress and gave me the opportunity to focus on all the information I was receiving from the school about my courses, orientation and clubs prior to the first day of school.

4. Scope out your new neighbourhood.

This tip goes hand in hand with the one before because moving in a bit early also gives you the chance to explore your new neighbourhood. Make sure to take some time to go out and see where everything is relative to your new place. Find out where your closest grocery store, coffee shop and other necessities are and get acquainted with the routes to get everywhere you’ll need to go. You may want to figure out routes to school and locate your nearest bus stop as well, to avoid any confusion and be sure that you’re making it to class on time. You could also use this time to find out what restaurants are nearby and try some of the yummy food you’ll be enjoying during your time in the city!

5. Make your apartment feel like home!

It’s important that you feel safe and comfortable in your new place, so you’ll want to add some finishing touches to make the space your own and feel truly at home. Decorate your apartment in a way that reflects your personality by including your favourite colours and your favourite things! You’ll be surrounding yourself with the things that you love which will brighten your space and add lots of character. You can also add items like rugs, curtains, throw blankets, and plants, all of which will bring a lot of warmth into your new home. Lastly, don’t forget to put up some photos that you love. Buy some frames, make a photo collage wall or print out some polaroid’s and stick them on your fridge — no matter which way you go about it, these photos will bring you some joy every time you look at them and will make your space feel much homier.

I hope these tips help ease you into the start of your new school year and make the transition to your new home smooth and enjoyable. Good luck!

--

--