Effective Communication During COVID-19

Hailey Lonsdale
Law School Life and Beyond
4 min readSep 26, 2020

--

At TRU Law, all learning has moved to a virtual setting this year. BlueJeans, Zoom and Microsoft Teams are our new classrooms, and understandably, this is altering the way in which we communicate with each other.

In particular, I have noticed the increased need to become incredibly intentional with my opportunities to communicate; with classmates, professors and with lawyers. I am no longer able to sneak in a quick question in the hallway, or accept an offer for a brief coffee chat at an office. There is little ability to ask a classmate, “did you understand the ratio of that case?” or update one another on the tasks of a group project.

This can unfortunately cause a lack of casual communication and social isolation. Scheduling in every conversation we have with each other is difficult, but here are some points to keep in mind.

Communicating with Classmates

This year, most of my friend group is split up around the province. We are no longer able to eat lunch together, chat about our new favourite Netflix show, and update each other on what has been happening outside of school. I miss these conversations. Instead, we have been implementing a standing invite, every week at a fixed time, to drop in and chat on Zoom. We only have one rule: no talk of law school!

As artificial and contrived as this may seem, it has been a great way to ensure that we keep in touch. It has also been a welcome addition to my busy days, and a great break for my brain.

I have also started the habit of inviting some of my fellow classmates for a quick, 20-min coffee chat to get to know them more. Community is a huge part of the law school experience, and it can be more difficult to make those connections outside of in person instruction. If there is a classmate you want to connect on a more personal level, a brief call can work wonders. Building that personal and professional network is still possible, it just requires a little more planning.

Finally, if yourself and a few other classmates are finding course content difficult, set up a regular study session after class! In my experience, reviewing confusing material can be most effective directly after class when it is fresh in my mind.

Connecting with Professors

Recently, I have been having greater difficulty asking for clarification from professors. I am no longer able to approach them after class with a query, or drop by their office for a quick chat. As well, I often find it difficult to ask questions in a virtual classroom amongst my peers.

I would encourage my fellow law students to use the ‘chat’ function on virtual platforms. I am slowly learning how to articulate my questions more clearly and succinctly. Much like learning more generally, practice makes perfect!

Some of my professors do not have set times for office hours, but have rather made themselves available for a call when convenient. I understand a private Zoom or phone call can seem daunting, but it can be a fantastic way to connect. As well, it is a far more effective tool to seek clarification on concepts, compared to email. I typically like to prep for these calls by preparing 3 key concepts or cases I would like to better understand. I find it can also be helpful to address and give notice to your professor about these topics in advance, when scheduling the meeting.

Above all, connecting via Zoom or phone is a wonderful way to get to know the members of your faculty better. Much like you, they are also going through a transitional period. Understanding, grace and patience are always appreciated.

Virtual Networking

Networking is a vital part of the legal profession. A service industry at its core, professional connections are important to our success as lawyers. Our virtual reality may make it appear more difficult to connect with those outside our institutional bubble.

However, I would argue it is the opposite. Due to the widespread implementation and adoption of virtual telecommunication, reaching out to those at the edge of your bubble and beyond its limits is easier than ever before. Prior to COVID 19, face-to-face coffee chats were the gold standard of professional networking. Now, we all are restricted in our ability to meet in person. This allows for wider acceptance of a phone call in replace of in-person conversations.

I would encourage you to use this opportunity to stretch your network, and offer to connect with those outside of your geographic area and time zone. COVID-19 has made it possible for me to connect with lawyers in Europe and fellow law students in America. Search up a particular practice area of interest on Linkedin, and take the chance in inviting them to connect!

Recently, I have also been communicating to my new professional connections that I have made a $5 donation to Covenant House; a Vancouver organization that assists youth experiencing homelessness, in lieu of a coffee. This is a wonderful way to once again, make a personal and indelible connection with a new member of your network. But above all, donate to those who are most indeed during these difficult times.

Communicating in our current era has its own unique challenges. We must act with more intention and diligence. However, we must also take advantage of the unique opportunities presented during this period.

--

--