If You Want an A, Exam Prep Starts Today!

Gabrielle Guizzo
Law School Life and Beyond
3 min readSep 28, 2020

--

If you are reading this then congratulations, you are a fellow keener. You are the type of person that avidly searches for and reads any study tip articles you can find in the hope that you will outperform the person in the Zoom screen next to yours. I remember sitting in one of my first classes and the professor telling us only 10 would be given an A by the end of the course and then asking, “will you receive that A?”

Upon reading these tips, you may say to yourself, “well, I already do these things, and I have not gotten the results I want.” Everyone has different study techniques, but it could also be that you are not executing them right. Sometimes, you need to modify your approach to fit with your learning style.

1.Summary Sheets

Like most students, I familiarize myself with the content by rereading my notes before class. I know for myself this approach does not always increase my comprehension of the material. If you find yourself in a similar position, I suggest that while rereading your notes, take a sheet of paper and write down key points. This allows you not only to retain the information but provides you with a point of reference during class instead of having to go through all your Control F search results. Moreover, take the opportunity to be creative with these summary sheets and use different highlighters and coloured pens.

2. Ask Yourself Questions

After a few classes, you should be able to predict the type of questions your professor will ask during the lecture. As you go through the readings, I recommend asking yourself questions you think the professor might raise or how what you are reading relates to last week’s homework. After asking these questions, write them down on a separate sheet of paper and start to answer them as you go through the content.

I found this to help me because when a professor asks a similar question, I have my points jotted down, and I can get those participation marks. Additionally, this allows you to go beyond a surface-level understanding. I find that when you understand how all the material connects, you will better at knowing how to correctly apply it.

3. Review Your Notes After Class

In my first year, one of my professors claimed the secret to his 2L success was going through his lecture notes within an hour after the class. I could not agree more. I often found myself not rereading lectures, not until two weeks before an exam. This created a problem because I could not understand my short forms or even some of my points. Take this advice; it only requires 15 to 30 minutes, and it will help you when making your outlines.

4. Weekly Outlines

Many students find themselves scrambling for an upper year’s summaries notes and attempting to summarize 13 weeks of content into an extensive summary the week before an exam. Do yourself a favour and work on your outlines each week. Take one day a week to condense your lecture and reading notes. Not only will you be less stressed for exam season, but it is another opportunity to review and ensure you know the material.

5. Visit Your Professor

You have probably heard this before, but it truly is beneficial. It shows professors that you are engaging with content and actively learning. I find this can be especially helpful if you do not feel comfortable with actively in class. On the other hand, do not go if you have no pressing questions because professors do not appreciate having their time wasted. I consider this my most important piece of advice; forming a relationship with the professor during office hours can be the difference between a 79 and an 80.

--

--