Integrated Practice Curriculum: The Future of Law School?

Gabrielle Guizzo
Law School Life and Beyond
5 min readSep 3, 2020

--

To compete with well-established law schools and respond to the realities of the current job market, newer entrants, Lakehead University (Bora Laskin Faculty of Law) and Ryerson University, have created new curriculum and articling formats. It is with the support of the Law Society of Ontario (LSO), Lakehead and Ryerson adopted a new Integrated Practice Curriculum (IPC). Many prospective law students may ask themselves, should this impact my choice of law school?

In the tight job market where many students struggle to obtain an articling position, the IPC is appealing; it integrates articling into the three-year law school curriculum. This means not only is the LSO articling requirement satisfied, but students are eligible to write the bar following graduation. Thereby accelerating the process of becoming a lawyer by roughly a year. As a point of clarity, a student can still article if they so choose, however, this step is not required for IPC graduates.

While Ryerson Law is opening its doors online in the fall of 2020, Lakehead’s Faculty of law has educated future lawyers in an IPC format since opening in 2013. As Ryerson’s program is new, and I am entering my second year at the Bora Laskin Faculty of Law, this only covers the Lakehead curriculum. The IPC program combines traditional theoretical instruction with practical skill assignments and experiences that are designed to emulate the practice of law. Students are required to take all the same courses as would be expected in a traditional format faculty. However, IPC assignments are integrated into all core courses in preparation for the practice placement. Lakehead has three mandate areas that are woven into the curriculum of its courses: Aboriginal and Indigenous Law, Environmental Law and Natural Resource Law, and Sole Practitioner/Small Town Law practice.

HOW DO YOU SATISFY THE ARTCILING REQUIREMENTS DURING YOUR 3 YEARS AT LAW SCHOOL?

Articling requirements are achieved by completing IPC assignments throughout the three years and through a four-month unpaid practice placement with an Ontario lawyer in the third year of the program.

IPC Assignments
During the first year, students are required to complete an IPC assignment in most classes. The assignments in the first year include research memos, opinion letters, contract negotiations and oral submissions. For example, Criminal Law students are required to complete mock Bail and Sentencing Hearing oral submissions. Additionally, in keeping with the mandate of Aboriginal and Indigenous Law, students were required to take in a sharing circle exercise over a proposed development on treaty lands.

In the second year, your Civil Procedure students complete a capstone assignment that teaches to draft an affidavit of documents, Statements of Claim and Defence. The class also focuses on holding a mock trial where students have the ability to demonstrate their advocacy skills.

As a student, participation in a practical curriculum can provide a sense of confidence when commencing work for a principal lawyer. In interviews for summer positions, I have been asked if I have written any legal documents before, and this is where I take the opportunity to discuss the practical knowledge I have gained through IPC and how it has equipped me to handle any task that may come my way.

Practice Placement
In the third year of the program, students complete a four-month practice placement. Students are given the option to participate through either a closed or open steam. A closed stream placement is where a student finds their own placement with a lawyer in Ontario. The open stream is where the school provides you with a list of firms to apply to, and both the firm and student will rank each other following an interview. The other four months of the third year will be spent completing the necessary credits to graduate and satisfy the LSO’s mandatory credit hours.

MY SENTIMENTS ABOUT IPC & LAKEHEAD

Throughout this article, I have described the benefits of the IPC, and they are part of the reason I chose to attend Lakehead. The program has given me confidence in the legal field, and that is a sentiment shared amongst most of my peers. There are so many advantages for students who graduate from a law school with the IPC program. The program’s success is due to an incredible staff and faculty who are committed to both the program and student’s success. I feel that when applying to law school, students tend to dismiss Lakehead. To be honest, I initially did too, but after looking into the program more, I was enticed by the curriculum and incredibly small class sizes (almost all classes are capped at 35 students). I implore anyone considering applying to law school to do their research on the IPC programs.

QUOTES FROM CURRENT LAKEHEAD STUDENTS & GRADUATES

“The integrated practice curriculum combined legal skills with theory to ensure that we, as students, can put our classroom knowledge into use. I believe it better prepared me for my summer jobs as the oral elements of my IPCs made me more comfortable speaking in front of my superiors.”

Hugh Ross, JD Candidate, Class of 2022

“The Bora Laskin Faculty of Law provides an unparalleled academic experience for students. Their unique format allows students to effectively develop and refine the necessary skills required to excel in the legal profession. On a personal level, the inclusion of the IPC assignments has allowed me to participate in hands-on experiential learning, which provides this connection between what we learned in the classroom to real-world circumstances. This not only better prepares you for what to expect as a lawyer, but also provides better insight into what types of law are of interest in pursuing in the future. The combination of this program structure and the constant support provided by all of the professors and staff makes this a learning experience I would recommend to anyone interested in pursuing a career in law.”

Adrianne DiSimoni, JD Candidate, Class of 2022

“Entering my placement in a firm that had two articling students, I feared I would not be at the same level of knowledge or skill. My self-doubt was set aside when I realized the IPC program had prepared me to the same degree as the articling students, including instances where they came to me for assistance. This gave me a level of confidence that I am now able to bring into my practice.

Brennyn Watterton, JD, Class of 2020"

--

--