Learning How to Say NO!

Misha Apel
Law School Life and Beyond
2 min readAug 18, 2021

--

Everyone I know will think this is hilarious that I am writing this because I need to take my own advice. If you’re anything like me (and most law students) you like to keep busy, get involved, and end up doing too much.

Here are three simple tips I have been trying to work on and hopefully they help you too.

1) Prioritize what interests you

You got into law school and likely have some amazing experiences; thus, you probably don’t need any “resume boosters.” It’s much better to get involved with things you enjoy because you will then talk about your experiences more genuinely in interviews!

2) What do you get out of saying yes?

If the opportunity will benefit you, absolutely go for it. I’m glad I got involved in 1L. It gave me the chance to meet great people (albeit, virtually) and learn more about my interests. But I quickly learned that you can get overwhelmed with a lot of really great opportunities and you don’t have to have your hand in all of them. Be selective so that you can contribute appropriate time to things you are interested in while staying on top of your school work.

3) Is it better to focus on what you’re already committed to?

Your resume can only be 2 pages. You cannot possibly fit everything. Stick to what you enjoy, what you’re committed to and get comfortable letting things go. There will be so many opportunities, saying no to one does not close the door.

We all have an innate dislike for turning people down and disappointing them, but this is your life, so enjoy it! Do what brings you joy. If this new activity fits into your life plan, great! If it will create unnecessary stress and strain on your relationships, why take it on?

People admire and respect self-awareness. If you tell someone you do not have the capacity to take more on, it is not that you do not want to, or are uninterested, but you respect yourself and the opportunity enough to want to give it your best time and effort rather than cramming the work in just to cross it off the to-do list.

Let’s do ourselves a favour and add “no” to our vocabulary this school year.

--

--