The Importance of Taking Time Away from Law School in Law School

Katya Rowley
Law School Life and Beyond
4 min readDec 8, 2020

Now in my second year of the Dual JD Program, I think I have FINALLY figured out how to law school. Took me a minute, but we made it. Of course I completed my first year of law school, but I feel as though it was more of a crawl than a confident stride. Juggling so many new things was difficult, and it has seemed up until fairly recently that I could not find enough hours in the day to finish my school work, let alone things I actually enjoy.

It finally got to the point where I just really missed reading for enjoyment, and whether I had my work completed or not, I put my books down at 9 pm and started reading things completely unrelated to law school. Interestingly enough, it was when I started to make time for the things that I enjoyed, that I started to finish what I needed to do for law school.

To anyone reading this, I hope you learn this lesson sooner than I did. The key distinction in approaching law school is productive time vs. actual time; and there is a huge difference.

Sure, there are enough assignments, readings, lectures, and things to catch up on in law school to fill the 24 hours in a day. That does not mean you should allow it to take up that much time though. In fact, you would be far better off making sure that you don't let that happen.

By now I kind of know who is top of my class, and these people are always active on Instagram having a grand old time with their friends and significant others. Me, certainly not top of the class, are not doing these things, so how is this fair? My initial thought was some things are out of my control, these people are just inherently smarter than I am, and I have to work extra hard to keep up. I mean, maybe there is SOME truth to that, but I would argue it does not make up the majority of the picture.

These people have found balance in their lives and honed in on the very important distinction between productive time vs. actual time spent on law school-related things. I can honestly attest to this now, having done it myself, it is so unbelievably important to take time away from law school in law school. Not only for mental and physical health, but for your grades.

Once I started reading for enjoyment again, there honestly was joy in my day again. I do not want to make it sound like law school is completely miserable, but it is a grind. Looking forward to reading the Count of Monte Cristo every night made me more productive during the day. It was my light at the end of the tunnel. I was no longer slogging it out from the morning until just before bed, and I was becoming more productive because of it. During those long days before, I was easily distracted; I was not focused. Why should I be? I have all day, right? What’s the hurry? Now, I focus and get what needs to be done completed in a timely manner, so that I can do things I actually enjoy. I know that my marks at finals will reflect this, just by nature of me feeling far more prepared in general.

Whatever your time away from law school looks like, make sure you take it. My personal recommendation? Reading. I find that when I sit in front of a television for a few hours as my de-stressor, I feel like a blob and not super great about how I just spent my last few hours. For some reason, reading for enjoyment is guilt-free. I still feel productive, but completely at ease. I know being a law student you are probably thinking, “I do NOT want to spend more time reading than I already do!” So again, if watching television or going for a walk are more up your alley, do that. I find it also helps to put my phone on do not disturb during this time too, because socializing is also energy-consuming, and I recommend taking this time for you and only you. Your relationships will benefit from this as well.

Just remember, make time for the things you love, and your marks will follow suit. More importantly, you will be much, much happier.

--

--

Katya Rowley
Law School Life and Beyond

Dual JD Candidate at Detroit Mercy Law & University of Windsor