Things I Wish I Knew While Studying for the LSAT

Marni Galin
Law School Life and Beyond
2 min readMay 9, 2022

1. Don’t compare yourself to others.

Like any other test, people prepare differently. Some people may need five months to study while others might need a couple of weeks. Regardless of how much time you take, try not to compare yourself to others because it doesn’t mean you are more or less prepared than them.

2. Use your resources wisely.

When I first started studying for the LSAT, I was completely overwhelmed by the number of resources available. I didn’t know how to start studying or what would work best for my study habits. After a while, I realized that I needed to prepare for the LSAT like any other test and that the “right” way to study was based on how I learned best. So, when choosing a study method, it’s important to self-reflect. If you need a little more guidance or structure, a prep course can be helpful. If you prefer to teach yourself and study at your own pace, LSAT prep books or online practice quizzes may be better suited for you.

3. Structure your studying.

Depending on how you choose to study for the LSAT, a lot of your preparation will be self-guided. This can sometimes make studying feel more like a chore than something you want to do. One way that helped me study effectively was to treat my LSAT prep like a course. I scheduled designated study hours like a school course would be scheduled into your week. I found that by doing this, I was motivated to work and found the task itself less daunting because it was broken up into manageable chunks.

4. It is okay to take the test more than once.

No matter what anyone tells you, the score you receive on your LSAT does not define you. Of course, everyone wants to receive a high score on their first try. But if you don’t, that is totally okay! Sometimes it takes more than one attempt to receive a score you are happy with. But as the saying goes, practice makes perfect! Do not be discouraged from trying again.

--

--