5 Tips for Getting Back Into the Swing of Things

Katya Rowley
Law School Life and Beyond
2 min readJan 17, 2021

Now that we have all returned to school, albeit reluctantly, it is time to gear up for another semester. Sometimes I wonder if the break just slows down our momentum and if we would be better off just going straight through from semester to semester. However, the big picture is that the break is a much-needed mental health rest. Law school can be mentally draining, so taking some time to pause is very much necessary.

I started thinking about how hard it is to get back into the swing of things and how I like to get my head back into the right mental space for school. Aside from the fact that just buckling down and doing what must be done is obviously necessary, there are a few surface level things you can do that will help get you back into the zone. Below, I have compiled the a list of 5 easy tips that I have found to help me!

1. Clean your office space

Make sure your work space is fresh and ready to go. Even if there is not a lot of work to be done, the simple act of Lysol-ing your office desk or emptying the trash will make your space seem more inviting and enjoyable to work from.

2. Make a list of priorities

Write down everything that needs to be done to start the semester off and do the easiest tasks first. This will build your confidence and ease you back into the productivity cycle.

3. Treat yourself to new materials

Buying new highlighters and similar supplies will also make you feel invigorated and ready to tackle a new semester!

4. Clean out your email

I find this to be oddly therapeutic. Everything that is not relevant anymore, I delete. If something is not immediately relevant, but I still need it for future use, I move into my “Miscellaneous” folder which I created for this purpose. Everything I will need to pay attention to soon, I leave in my inbox. This way my inbox is left with a maximum of 10 emails to start the semester off. I am not overwhelmed opening my email anymore!

5. Clean out your computer folders

Everything that is not relevant anymore, delete. Everything that is mislabelled or floating around in inappropriate folders, rename and organize. This helps me stay organized and excited to start the next semester with a clean slate.

Again, getting back into the swing of things is more of a mental game than anything. Any little thing that you can physically do that will help is worth a try. These are a few things that have worked for me! Good luck this semester!

--

--

Katya Rowley
Law School Life and Beyond

Dual JD Candidate at Detroit Mercy Law & University of Windsor