The Greatest Cooks Write Cookbooks

Dr. Adrienne B. Haynes
Adrienne B. Haynes
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2020

For many of us, some of our greatest memories take place in the kitchen or over food. My first real job was at an ice cream store and my first job at a camp was in the kitchen. Today in my companies, I love working with food and beverage entrepreneurs. Some of my favorite clients are courageous chefs who want to see if the world will love their food as much as they do, and they’re working to build a business around that passion.

Some even share their recipe book. Instead of being afraid that their customers would forget them if they had the ingredients, the best chefs shared. Whether by publishing recipes or hosting cooking shows, they invite others to join them on the journey. Even now, in the midst of a world shift that is devastating the food and beverage industry, we see local restaurateurs turning their companies into community kitchens and other examples of #radicalsharing.

So, as we settle into the third market collapse in my life, I have to ask myself — how will I respond?

· 9/11

· 2007–2008 Housing Collapse

· COVID-19

For my own companies, I’ve been working to figure out how to transition my lawyering and consulting portfolios into more accessible content. The value of the knowledge, experience or resources is activated only when shared. Over the last ten years, I’ve been fortunate to work with some of the most inspiring and persistent entrepreneurs and have been able to deepen my love and research in community innovation design.

Inspired by the chefs who write cookbooks and the kitchens keeping people fed in spite of an industry collapse, I have used this time to transition all of the legal presentations we’ve done at SEED Law and some of the key lessons I’ve learned as a business and community consultant at SEED Collective into articles. Between the two publications on Medium, there are 100’s of detailed articles and citations. I’ll be working on videos and Spanish translation next.

The reality is that our world is not going #backtonormal so we’re developing the new normal right now. In times of economic volatility, entrepreneurs rise up. This is my contribution to new generation of entrepreneurs and those who have weathered a storm or two before.

--

--

Dr. Adrienne B. Haynes
Adrienne B. Haynes

My name is Dr. Adrienne B. Haynes and I focus my time, talents, and treasures on the intersection of law, entrepreneurship, and community designed innovation.