IFTTT & Time Management

Sidney Zdenek Hornych
sidex
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2019

You can't recover the moment after it's missed. I love to learn how I can better use the given time. Data can help.

IFTTT & Google Calendar provide me with a nice help for time management and its improvement. The very first widget I enabled on my phone writes a simple note to my Google Calendar whenever I got a call from someone and whenever I call someone.

I record the time of call, the number, and the contact name. I store the record in a dedicated private calendar I created just for these events.

IFTTT & Call Management

Simple script “{{OccurredAt}} Phone call placed to {{ContactName}} +\{{ToNumber}}, {{CallLength}}“ that does the magic.

I have the same notification service for both, incoming and outgoing calls. I have then a clear idea who I spoke with and when. This way of call management makes it easier for me to write down notes about the meetings, tasks, etc. retrospectively.

My second key IFTTT widget uses Location

as the foundation for its functionality. When I'm entering and leaving the specifically set area, a new Google Calendar event is created. That's how I'm able to track when I'm entering the office, leaving the office, the same for home. And the same for other places I want to monitor this way.

I also created a dedicated private calendar just for these location events.

IFTTT & Location Management

Someone can object privacy concerns.

And many of them cannot be disputed. Everything has pros and cons. If cons are bearable and the benefit of pros is high, I have no brainer to use such tech. That is the reason why Google Home is something I use on a daily basis to control lights, speakers, heating, watering some plants, etc. And that's why I use IFTTT all the time. It simply makes my organization stuff in better shape.

IFTTT is a universal tool you can use for countless automation triggers during your daily life. IFTTT can send you a notification when your thermostat batteries are dying, receive an emergency call when smoke is detected, unlocking your door when you get home, automate lights, curtains, you name it.

Start with IFTTT at https://ifttt.com/join.

--

--