Work Placement: Andrew Bowers

If your wondering what its like to go on a work placement here a digital branding studio like Layers, well, heres an opportunity for you to read the experience of someone who has done just that:

James Hanson
Layers Studio
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2018

--

My placement started off with an introduction to Campus North (where Layers is based), and the rest of the team. James then outlined the brief I’d be working on, and the expected working schedule. The brief discussed a need to bring an application to market that centralises categorical information on Green Spaces.

“The GREENPLACE app aims to provide search categories such as accessibility, suitability for spots, tranquility, biodiversity, pet friendliness or more simply, location. Each category can be used independently from one another or as a group to narrow down potential green space which have the relevant and desired characteristics for a selected use.”

After receiving the brief, the first day was scheduled around research. I set about looking at local authority websites, and seeing how they currently present all of this data. Was there a common thread? Or was there a larger problem that needed to be resolved? It was clear that most websites were cumbersome and there was no thread between different sources of information. Obviously, the centre of this app was going to be based around the search function. So, I started looking at apps with a good (or complicated) search function and tried to find any common patterns that I could use myself, or even avoid, if done in a manner that wasn’t appropriate.

On the second day, James and I had a reflective meeting on the research work that I’d done to this point. I presented it in an InDesign document, as I felt it was important to discuss the angle I wanted to take the app, and allow for as much feedback as possible. As it happens, we had a meeting at the start of each day of the week. I found this hugely beneficial — although I appreciate that when you’re in a job, this level of support probably wouldn’t happen. It did, in this situation, allow for more focus and support.

After the research element of the project, we swiftly moved into developing a User Journey. The element of speed would be a recurring theme of the week — the expected speed of work is at a higher level than I was used to, but I took this challenge as a fantastic opportunity to learn.

I developed user personas, and the resulting user stories in the second day. From this, I was able to then define what the Minimum Viable Product would be, and what I could be expected to deliver at the end of the week. I then spent a long time trying to define what search categories would be held in the app, and how those users would interact with them. James then gave us feedback on this again, and this was a very valuable conversation to have. The route I was taking the app (including Events as a searchable category) displayed the sheer volume of information that could go into Green Places. However, after presenting and discussing this issue to James, it was clear that sticking to the MVP and making sure I delivered something achievable, was more important.

I began wireframing with pen & pencil at the end of day two, and spent the rest of day three digitising them. I eventually got to a point where I was able to prototype the wireframes from Sketch and present them through InVision to James. Again, the feedback received at this point was valuable, and allowed me to continue the development of the app.

Wireframes in Sketch

After wireframing, the next stage was to start on the UI of the app. I decided to go into the branding of the app a bit, and I developed the below logo:

Green Places logo

I then spent a bit of time working on the elements that would be used in the app and how they would start to work together.

Green Places UI

After further prototyping the UI, I then presented the app in full, and explained why I had chosen the route I finally had taken.

This is the second work placement I have done this year, and I have to say it’s been the most rewarding. The brief set was very involved, and was certainly a challenge. I’ve taken a lot of feedback on board, but equally I feel that I’ve been able to step up to the level required of me. The Design process I followed put me in good stead, and I also think I’ve been able to add more strings to my bow — thanks to the feedback and knowledge of the guys at Layers.

Thanks to Andrew for being such a diligent worker, and to Newcastle College for working with us on this. We are very happy to be helping students get a feel of what it’s like after education.

--

--