10 Things From Sunday

Drue Goncalves
Layerz
Published in
4 min readOct 15, 2018

These are ten things I noticed during the Sunday games. Some may be a recurring story, others may be a one time thing. You can expect me to dissect some plays, and patterns I notice throughout the season. I hope to post this every Monday through the rest of the season.

  1. Chiefs vs Pats: Offense Wins Championships, Defense Doesn’t Matter?

This was pretty much everything I ever wanted to see in a primetime football game; lots of scores and very little defense. I’m just curious if an offensive team can actually win a superbowl. Let me rephrase that, I am curious if either the Patriots or the Chiefs, two teams with abysmal defenses can win a superbowl. The last team I can remember with an offense this good that made a superbowl was the 2013 Broncos, and they lost the superbowl 43–8. Having a great offense in the regular season is great, but when the playoffs start defense is important. Personally I don’t think either of these teams can truly compete with these defenses. I thought the Pats could last year and they got lit up by Nick Foles. Neither of these teams can compete for a superbowl unless they can sure up their defenses, perhaps the Chiefs can when Eric Berry comes back but he has been day to day for weeks now. So who knows when he will come back.

2. You know who has a great offense and a good defense?

The Chargers. I’m sorry I can’t help myself, just let me have this moment. The Chargers only have two losses on the season and the combined record of the teams that beat them? 11–1. Everything went well for them today, I mean Phlip Rivers threw a bomb into triple coverage today and it was somehow a touchdown. That never happens for them. We even made all our kicks today. Once Joey Bosa gets back we could be a real threat. (Yes, I know I don’t play for the Chargers, but I’m so attached at this point it’s a we not they. We’re all in this together).

3. Julio Jones vs The End Zone

Maybe he is just playing the worlds longest game of the floor is lava, but in his case the end zone is lava. I really don’t understand what’s so hard about getting him to score. I for one love it, I mean Tariq drafted him in fantasy this year and it couldn’t be going worse. Lets just keep this going for a few more weeks. What’s the record for most receiving yards without a touchdown?

4. Lets Talk About a Receiver Who Can Score

Adam Theilen’s play I swear is strictly because I picked Stefon Diggs over him in fantasy football after a long internal debate with myself over who to choose. The dude has over a hundred yards in each of his first six games, and he leads the league in receiving. Someone who was once a sleeper is now probably a top 3 receiver in the league. 1. Antonio Brown 2. Julio Jones (yes, even though he can’t score) 3. Adam Theilen? If he keeps this play up it may not be long before he is number one.

5. Mitchell Trubisky

The dude can make a a great throw like this:

He can also make a throw like this:

Can we stop hoping for instant results with this dude? He is going to take some time but he has a lot of talent, just because he isn’t Patrick Mahomes doesn’t mean he’s a bust.

6. Worst Coach of the Week

While we are on the topic of the Bears, I’m going to give this award to Matt Nagy. On a day where your quarterback is the only reason you’re in the game, why would you run the ball on 3rd and four, and play for the 53 yard field goal attempt. It was a bone headed move that put the Dolphins in good field position and the Bears lost the game in part because of it. Seriously, you trust a kicker to make a 53 yard field goal more than your quarterback to convert on 3rd and four? Coming from a Charger fan, never trust a kicker.

7. Nathan Peterman

Why does this guy have a job? He’s terrible. The best thing the Texans could do all day was just give him the ball and something good was bound to happen for them.

8. State of the Texans Offensive Line

Well we have this gem from the Ringers Shea Serrano:

This is probably because I picked Deshaun Watson in fantasy.

9. Raiders

I will leave the Raider positives for Anthony to talk about, but what’s going on over there. Gareon Conley didn’t play a defensive snap, Karl Joseph and Amari Cooper are on the trade block, and I am pretty sure the Raiders literally made Derek Carr cry. As a Charger fan, please sign me up for nine more years of this. I love this Jon Gruden sequel.

10. Conor McGregor vs Philip Rivers Throwing Motion

To be fair, there was a tweet that made the comparison, but I cant find it. McGregor’s throwing motion is second only to the legendary Philip Rivers.

McGregor:

Rivers:

--

--