10 Things From Sunday

Drue Goncalves
Layerz
Published in
5 min readOct 23, 2018

These are ten things I noticed during the Sunday games. Some may be a recurring story, others may be a one time thing. You can expect me to dissect some plays, and patterns I notice throughout the season. I hope to post this every Monday through the rest of the season.

  1. Good Offenses Continue to Beat Good Defenses

This week we had the Ravens play against the Saints and the Bears play against the Patriots. It was a battle that was described as really good offenses vs really good defenses.Of course, the offenses won. Offenses are becoming too creative, thanks to play-callers like Sean McVay and Andy Reid, and defenses are being limited by rules on what they can do. I love the saying “offense wins games, defense wins championships” but this is a year it may not apply (it didn’t apply last year either). Things could change when the winter rolls around and it gets tougher to move the ball in the weather, but for now, I’m going to side with offense.

2. The London Game Sabotaged My Fantasy Team

First off let me start by asking how an NFL player gets a tight hamstring on a plane? All you did was sit there, come on Melvin Gordon. I love Melvin Gordon, he’s the leader of my favorite football team and my fantasy team, but this has to be one of the dumbest ways to get hurt. Not only that but why wait until 4:00 AM to let everyone know he was questionable. I had to stay up until 5:00 AM to wait up and see if he was going to play, then I had to wake up at 6:30 for the actual game. If i wasn’t up playing NFL 2k5 all night I would’ve never known. Thankfully the Chargers won, unfortunately my fantasy team was the guy who killed John Wick’s puppy and my opponent was John Wick.

3. Tariq was wrong, Bengals are Pretenders

I like this Bengals team and I think Bill Lazor has really improved their offense, unfortunately I think their the third best team in their own conference. After starting off 4–1, the Bengals have lost two straight games to contending teams. We all knew this was going to be the gauntlet that determined their status among the NFL and I think we can safely say they’re pretenders after the beatdown the Chiefs gave them. How do you only score ten points against that Chiefs secondary? Just terrible.

4. Worst Coach of the Week: Mike Vrabel

I know it worked against the Eagles but sometimes going for the win instead of overtime isn’t the right move. If you disagree I understand why, but if you watched the game you’d also understand why I feel this way. The Chargers couldn’t stop the ball most of the second half but their defense was very good in the red zone. Going down to the end of the game it took the Titans multiple plays from inside the 5 to score, so I don’t understand where the confidence to go for two is coming from. If they had played for overtime, I guarantee you the Titans win. Besides the opening possession for the Chargers, they played pretty terribly in the second half, Tennessee controlled the time of possession and was moving the ball everywhere on the Chargers. To me the best move would have been to kick the extra point and win in overtime. I am thankful he did it, but I still think it was stupid.

5. Announcer Curse

Justin Tucker had never missed an extra point before that Saints game and that is all the announcer could talk about whenever Tucker kicked one. I blame that announcer for Tucker’s miss, I also blame myself because I had him on my fantasy team, and nothing goes right for your career once you play for my fantasy team.

6. Chandler Catanzaro

This dude was straight up garbage until his 59 yard field goal to win the game. I just want to give him some props because not one person thought that was going in. Especially not Baker Mayfield:

7. Deshean Watson

So Watson didn’t take a plane to the game because they were afraid of what the elevation would do to his bruised lung. Do you know what also probably isn’t good for his bruised lung? Making him play behind that offensive line against the Jaguars defensive front. They won, so they got away with it, but they need to be careful with Watson, unless they’re trying to injure him for the season again.

8. Kevin White

White had his first two catches of the season today, one being the Hail Mary at the one yard line that couldn’t get into the end zone. Regardless of him not scoring, or really doing much besides two catches, I was glad to see him play. He was projected to be very good and injuries have brought him down. Now that I remember he exists, I plan to keep an eye on him to see if he’s used more.

9. Chargers

The Chargers continue to win! I just want to say that this is the least stressful season I’ve ever had as a Charger fan and that I am all in on the super bowl hype that I am creating. They have a great offense and an improving defense(especially once Joey Bosa gets back). I’ll write more about this in a solo article, but just a warning: get ready for my super bowl hype train. ]

10. Redskins

I wrote at the beginning of the year in my predictions piece how the Redskins could possibly win the division. They’re now in sole possession of first place in the NFC East. The season’s far from over, but the divorce with Kirk Cousins seems to be working well for both teams. I would very much enjoy a Vikings and Redskins playoff game, I know I’d like that (Im very sorry but I had to).

--

--