June 15th Weekend Agenda

Souley
Le DakaRoi
Published in
2 min readJun 17, 2018

This week… the weekend comes a wee bit early: it starts after work on Thursday.

For those who don’t know, and who maybe have been living under a rock.. It’s Ramadan or rather has been Ramadan and we are celebrating the end of, Eid-El-Fitr… A ceremony of morning prayer, followed by a meal with family, then pardoning others and asking for a pardon from others we have wronged and vice versa, but also visiting neighbors, family, relatives, coworkers, basically all people in our lives who touch us, impact us, whom we interact with fairly often.

Dad is not in town this week, so I shall step up and lead the rest of the family to prayer! This’ll be my first! I believe to be ready, and even if I weren’t, gotta step up to the plate and batter up!

Part of this celebration is feasting, but at this point, after days of fasting, all stomachs have shrunk… I am amazed when I see people who gorge the day of! Laughable and at the same time enviable. I am toast… just the sight of a feast turns me off. I want to tell people to pace themselves, but I know most will not listen!

So, unlike other weekend when there are things to do, to explore all around town, this one centers around food and family and friends! Actually, that’s all one really needs! That’s all I really need right about now!

--

--

Souley
Le DakaRoi

A Dakarois aspiring to be a DakaRoi one day at a time. apparel business. amateur cordon bleu. convenient vegan.