Race in America

I’m Fed Up With False Equivalencies

Ajah Hales
Le Fool
5 min readJul 15, 2021

--

Anti-white racism isn’t a thing

One apple, one orange, and a handful of blueberries
Photo by (getinspo.co) Bibhash on Unsplash

I’m a writer and race educator. I spend a lot of time and effort breaking down racism, intersectional identities, and power dynamics. My work has taught me that a good analogy can anchor a concept within an adult learner’s mind, or, in other words, help them to ‘get it.’

In my article Why I Don’t Want to Talk About Reparations with White People, I used this analogy to highlight how ludicrous the national conversation around reparations is:

Think of it this way: imagine a bank error that caused you and millions of others to lose their life savings. Instead of giving the money back to you, the bank decides to hold a shareholder meeting, where the shareholders decide how the money will be returned.

Some shareholders suggest gift cards. Others want to put a portion of it into college funds for your descendants. Yet others suggest free financial management classes for all their customers — because after all, it would obviously benefit the people who lost their life savings the most, but it could also help other customers, and the bank just wants to be fair.

Now imagine that board meeting lasted 400 years. This is what Black America is facing today.

--

--

Ajah Hales
Le Fool

World Changer. Social Thinker. Business Owner. #WEOC