The Dead Fish in the Pond Was a Sign

Arjan Tupan
Le Giroflier Royal
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2019
Belly up.

Sometimes you see the signs, even recognise them, but still choose to ignore them. Superstition is not the wisest guide to base your life decisions on. Many signs though, have nothing to do with superstition. They are simply examples of how people interact with each other and the world around them. So, when you see a dead fish floating around in a pond at a restaurant, that is an example of how uninterested the staff is, and how little they pay attention to the details that make you as a guest feel like you are treated as well as you deserve to be. Looking at a fish floating belly-up in the pond, is not something that enhances your dining experience.

The dead fish in the pond is a sign.

I learned my lesson. I saw it and ignored it and payed the price: the worst restaurant experience I have had for as long as I can remember. In an uncrowded restaurant at the time I placed the very simple order for me and our two kids, it took them well over 40 minutes to get my food on the table. Nothing special. A snack and fries for each kid and a satay-style chicken skewer for me. There were two tables that were there before us, and at least one of them had already ordered as we came in. In total no more than 10 guests. Still, it took them over 40 minutes to prepare such a simple meal. That is a signal of bad organisation, bad execution and very bad planning and preparation. When I asked about it, the waiter told me the kitchen had just begun, but that is was very busy and that he first had to attend to the large group that arrived later than we did. I told him to cancel the meal, and that I wanted to pay for the drinks that we had ordered and actually also were served. Waiting for over 40 minutes with two hungry kids is not the nicest thing you can do, but then having to go and find food somewhere else is really a daunting task. When we arrived at the cash register, the food came out of the kitchen. First they wanted me to pay for it, then they started insulting me. That I probably never eat at restaurants, that my expectations are the ones only fast food places can live up to, that I didn’t understand how restaurants work. In my experience, people start insulting you when they know they cannot win the argument on, well, valid arguments. If you have a look at my TripAdvisor profile, you might find that I have visited a restaurant or two, and generally have had very positive experiences. Even taking into account the worst review I have left on TripAdvisor, I have never been treated to so much animosity and so many insults, or at least attempts at insults, in a restaurant ever before, anywhere in the world.

So yes, I’ve learned my lesson. A dead fish in a pond is a sign. It tells you to go. To run. To escape. To save yourself from a bad experience and find food somewhere else.

On TripAdvisor I review places I visit. As it is often with the kids, you will find places that will bring you joy, and a few that you’d be better of to avoid when travelling with kids. What is your “place to avoid”?

--

--

Arjan Tupan
Le Giroflier Royal

I help small businesses to find their story and tell it through new services and stories. Dad, poet and dot connector. Creator of the Tritriplicata. POM Poet.