Thinking of Europe

The Gîte Nextdoor

A holiday-in-France poem

Arjan Tupan
Le Giroflier Royal

--

The world’s best
cricketeer could be in
the Gîte nextdoor. But I know nothing
about that noble sport.
So, I dream.

This travel poem is part of the Thinking of Europe series. When we saw the Brits staying in the gîte (French holiday home) next to ours play cricket, I realised the man, or woman, could very well be one of the best players in the world, without me recognising them. I know next to nothing about a sport that is so big in many places, because in general, the Dutch do not get cricket.

More Thinking of Europe poems here:

This poem is a tritriplicata. Want to know more about that poetic form I created, read the ultimate tritriplicata FAQ:

https://medium.com/the-tripple-effect/what-is-that-tritriplicata-thing-866ccea7fba9

--

--

Arjan Tupan
Le Giroflier Royal

I help small businesses to find their story and tell it through new services and stories. Dad, poet and dot connector. Creator of the Tritriplicata. POM Poet.