What’s on the Soundtrack of Your Travels?

Arjan Tupan
Le Giroflier Royal
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2020
Domes of the Sacré Coeur in Paris, as an illustration for the song La Complainte de la Butte.
The Scré Coeur, on top of La Butte.

“I would walk 500 miles and I would walk 500 more”, the song about love fills the bar we are hanging out in. We’re in a good mood. A weekend trip to Edinburgh with friends from university. Today is one of our friend’s birthdays and his brother and sister joined us this evening. Inspired by the Proclaimers we start to dance. Maybe we overdo it a bit, which brings mixed responses from the other people in the bar. Some join us in using all of the bar as dancefloor, including some of the tables. Others look on grumpily. Maybe they don’t like to dance, maybe they don’t like how we inspire cheerfulness in their girlfriends. Anyway, it’s fun and we dance some more to other songs.

This happened years ago, in a previous life, almost. But the memory of it lives on. Especially when I hear that Proclaimers song. Right after, that was rather frequent, as I had bought the cd containing the song at the airport when we were heading back home. Nowadays, it’s occasional. I added the song to the soundtrack of my life playlist. On Spotify, these days. It also happens that the song suddenly comes to me through radio stations or over sound systems in public places. Without fail, it brings me back to that fun-and-dancing-filled evening in Edinburgh.

It’s not the only song that is forever connected to a place I traveled to or lived in. It’s not for nothing I have that playlist with the soundtrack of my life. La Complainte de la Butte, Spoonman, Is It Any Wonder, Du, An Tage Wie Diese and Canon by Pachelbel. These and more. Songs that take me back to travels and commutes, and bring a smile to my face.

Which songs feature on the soundtrack of your life?

--

--

Arjan Tupan
Le Giroflier Royal

I help small businesses to find their story and tell it through new services and stories. Dad, poet and dot connector. Creator of the Tritriplicata. POM Poet.