After 3 1/2 Years of Teaching Fitness Classes, It’s Time to Go

Nsuani Baffoe
Lead With Strength
Published in
2 min readNov 24, 2016

This past weekend, I wrapped up my final class for Goodlife Personal Training Institute. That marks the end of a 3 ½ year run of regularly pushing groups to reach outside of their limits and comfort ones.

I’m sure many people I’ve taught from my groups have learned a lot. What I’m not sure of is if they know how much they’ve helped me learn about myself during the process. I’d say it’s been a pretty fair trade.

I’m very grateful for the opportunity to have shared my knowledge with so many young professionals. I’m truly a better professional and person due to the opportunity. I’ve gained confidence speaking in public and become a better coach by working with many different body and personality types. Most of all, I’ve gained a level of self worth that can only come from educating another (who would think the guy who hated school would become a teacher lol?).

I also learned that when it’s time to step away, you don’t hesitate. I loved teaching those classes, but towards the end I knew it was approaching the time I needed to move on. For me, it’s about forward progress. “You grow or you die.” When the current challenges have become routine and the chances for learning dwindle, then that’s the universe telling me it’s time for change.

Trust me when I say this will be a huge change in my life. The fulfilment I felt for three years of consistently running those classes will be hard to replace. But other parts of my life have also changed over that same time period.

The past three years have also seen me marry my beautiful wife, have my first child — a son who is just as lively and curious as I am, and move into a new home. Those are three major changes. And as I adapt to my new normal, my new present, I am finding ways to prioritize what will be a new future.

Fitness is and always will be at the foundation of my life. Leadership is a concept I both embrace and excel, and I want to push myself to help others within this industry understand how the two coincide.

I’ll leave it at that for now. Again, I can’t say enough about the lessons I’ve learned over the past 3 ½ years. If the next three years are as eventful, then you’ll want to stick around for the ride.

#LeadWithStrength

Follow me on Medium Nsuani Baffoe

My publication Lead With Strength helps make the connection between your leadership and physical fitness.

--

--

Nsuani Baffoe
Lead With Strength

Award winning Fitness Manager | Appreciating Life | Living Everyday