Expand Your Fitness Education Beyond Physical Training

Nsuani Baffoe
Lead With Strength
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2017

The results can be epic.

One of the things I enjoy most about being part of the fitness industry is the opportunity for continued education. Maybe more than any other industry, personal trainers just getting started have countless options to keep learning and to keep expanding their knowledge base.

To that point, what’s also great about this industry is that it has so many different layers. A trainer can study nutrition, specialize in specific physical training methods, or get the support and resources necessary to become better at sales. The education is ongoing and I still remember being a young trainer and jumping at every opportunity I could to improve my skill set.

And I’m still learning. Today I’m still taking courses to keep me on top of any new shifts in the industry or simply to stay sharp. These young trainers I employ are hungry and motivated, so I need to make sure I’m still keeping pace.

Here’s the thing, though. As much as I work on my skill development, I’m careful not to ignore the other aspects of my growth. Investing into my personal growth is just as crucial to my overall success in my career as any fitness course I’ve ever taken or will take in the future.

There’s a reason for this. Taking fitness courses is like building a house. It teaches you about all the tools you’ll need to build the house and how to use those tools. As you progress, the courses makes sure to give you better tools to make it easier to build that same house.

The one frequency that these training sessions leave out, however, is the one thing I value most about self improvement training. That is the “why.” All the fitness courses, nutrition courses, and specialized training courses have helped developed my skills and knowledge to the point I’m at right now. The self improvement courses remind me why I am doing all of this in the first place.

I can’t begin to tell you how important this is. Knowing why I am immersing myself in constant rounds of education stables my mind. It adds purpose to those courses beyond just learning something new. It gives me perspective on my own vision, my own reasoning, and helps motivate me to continue pushing forward.

So as much as I encourage my team to take as many educational courses as possible, I’m hoping they are also able to follow my lead and explore their own personal development just as vigorously. The payoff extends far beyond the physical.

More content for leaders in the Fitness industry on Lead With Strength

Follow me on Medium Nsuani Baffoe

--

--

Nsuani Baffoe
Lead With Strength

Award winning Fitness Manager | Appreciating Life | Living Everyday