When Leaders Need to Admit They Are the Problem

Nsuani Baffoe
Lead With Strength
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2017

And get real with themselves.

Here’s a situation I’d like all my leaders to consider. You’ve been in a leadership position for a considerable amount of time. You’ve had success. You’re respected by your peers, your employees, and those above you have recognized your contributions. Life is good, until it isn’t.

Now some trouble hits. You’re not hitting your numbers. Your employees are becoming frustrated because they aren’t earning what they should be. Whispers are slowly starting to spread and something has to happen if things are going to change. The question then becomes “what is that something?”

The luxury of being a leader or a boss is that you get to dictate what that change is. You are responsible for analyzing the situation and coming up with solutions to keep your company moving forward. But how many leaders can truly step far enough back from a situation to admit that they are a huge part of the problem?

I have to admit that this isn’t easy, even for someone like me. I could even say especially for someone like me. A big part of why I’ve been successful is my audacity. I’ve been able to ignore obstacles and fight through difficult times regardless of the odds being stacked against me. I know how to get things done and make the tough decisions that has put me in the position I am today.

A big part of the job as a leader is to delegate. And as shitty as it sounds, leaders also need to point fingers. They must have the freedom to say “this isn’t working because of XYZ,” and that XYZ can sometimes be a person. It’s difficult, but also necessary to ensuring the company and the culture remain in tact.

But will that day ever come when I need to point that finger at myself? And if that day ever comes, will I be able to acknowledge my own shortcomings? It’s a fair question, and one every leader must face.

Signs You May Be the Problem

I think despite the complexity of this circumstance, there are some sure fire signs that can help you as a leader determine whether or not you are the one who needs to change. The most simple, almost selfish, indicator is whether or not you are happy coming into work. If you are not feeling fulfilled, the way you treat your staff, the way you perform, and the way you interpret your staff’s behaviour will all be affected.

Another indicator is that you are on cruise control. You are no longer challenging yourself or feeling challenged. You are simply taking steps to get things done with little or no connection to the job itself. When you start feeling this level of disengagement, it’s a signal that you really do need to check yourself.

But you have to first recognize these factors. Often, these indicators are there before performance starts to suffer. Part of being a leader is self diagnosing to the point where you can make the change before it becomes a serious issue. But when you are the one that has to be that change, it can be slightly more problematic.

I want to be clear. I’m not saying that by being the change, you need to relieve yourself of your duties. Changing yourself as a leader may simply mean adjusting the way you communicate with your staff. It may mean stepping back from a project with which you’ve become too involved, or it may mean stepping into a project you haven’t given enough attention.

We’re constantly solving problems. That’s why we’re leaders. But the best of us are aware enough of ourselves to know when we are the problem.

More articles like this on Lead With Strength.

--

--

Nsuani Baffoe
Lead With Strength

Award winning Fitness Manager | Appreciating Life | Living Everyday