Twenty questions with…Laura Costantino

Rachel McConnell
Lead with Tempo
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Red background with the New York skyline, image of Laura Costantino, and ‘Lead with Tempo 2023’ in white text

Get to know Laura, Senior UX writer at Google, and Lead with Tempo speaker.

What was the last meal you cooked?

Risotto. It’s one of my specialties.

Dogs or cats?

Cats, hands down. I’ve been told I look and act like one.

What’s the one book that changed your life?

All about love: new visions” by bell hooks. It taught me there’s so much more to love than I ever imagined.

Popcorn or ice-cream?

Gelato?

Who inspires you?

This is going to sound cheesy, but I’d say my spouse, Stan, who’s overcome so much in life and has grown in spite and because of it.

What was the last good thing you watched — series or film?

The second season of the White Lotus. The one set in Sicily. So good!

Introvert? Extrovert? Or both?

Both.

Which app do you use the most?

LinkedIn, I am afraid.

Night out or night in?

It depends LOL

What’s your drink of choice (soft or otherwise)?

Sparkling water is my soft drink of choice. And I do appreciate almost any hard drink, except rum–not a fan.

The worst advice you’ve ever been given?

Anything around how or what I eat. Let people make their own nutrition choices. Everyone would be so much happier for it.

When was the last time you laughed till you cried?

I can’t remember but it was probably over something completely nonsensical.

Early bird or night owl?

Early bird.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?

I don’t know if ever but the best advice I’ve been given recently is to trust my body to know what to do and take care of me.

Where’s your favourite holiday destination?

Anywhere where I can swim on a beach.

What one thing would you do if you were president/prime minister for the day?

End homelessness. Food and shelter are human rights.

Who would play you in a movie of your life?

Myself, probably.

What’s one thing you never leave home without?

A purse. I carry too much stuff around.

Tea or coffee?

Tea. I absolutely love tea.

Which dead tech would you bring back to life?

Of course as a former film scholar, I’d say film.

Tickets to Lead with Tempo are on sale now!

--

--

Rachel McConnell
Lead with Tempo

Content and design leader. Found of Tempo. Author of Leading Content Design and Why you Need a Content Team and How to Build One