How can you Beat the Peter Principle and Excel in Your Role?

Amitabh Ghosh
Leader Circle
Published in
5 min readNov 27, 2023

You’ve clinched that promotion you’ve been striving for — congratulations! But now, reality sets in, and you realize this new role is more demanding than you expected. Tasks that used to be a breeze now seem like a mountain to climb. You find yourself making mistakes left and right, and it’s not the smooth journey you envisioned. Welcome to the world of the Peter Principle.

The Peter Principle suggests that we all climb the career ladder until we find ourselves in a job that’s not our strong suit. Unfortunately, many of us end up staying there, feeling incompetent and increasingly frustrated. It’s a scary thought, right? But there’s no need to panic just yet. You can beat this trap, and it all starts with self-awareness.

All through my career, I have hit this situation over and over. Even today when I speak with individuals who are working up to the scope where I am, I find it so much easier to identify what they could have done better and then gently guide them. Feels great helping and coaching folks.

Then I speak to my manager, and he finds out all the areas I should have thought of for the work I am leading now. Oh, the shame! Just how many times can I mess up? Why can’t I ask the right questions? Why do I keep reacting? My manager just gently guides me again.

We are all in the same boat.

First things first, it’s entirely normal to feel overwhelmed when you step into a new position. After all, you’re learning a whole set of new skills! It’s unrealistic to expect to be a superstar from day one. The trouble begins when you ignore this learning curve for too long.

What you need to do is recognize that your old tactics aren’t cutting it anymore. You’ve got to level up your game. This self-awareness is your best weapon against the pitfalls of the Peter Principle.

You excelled in your previous role because you had the right knowledge and experience. But now, you’ve ventured into uncharted territory. Using the same old skills will backfire, plain and simple. The strategies that worked in the past just won’t produce the results your new role demands. So, be honest with yourself. Admit when you’re falling short and need to acquire new capabilities. It’s all part of the process when you’re moving up!

Don’t stop at just coasting on your past achievements. You’ve got to be hungry to expand your skill set. Whether it’s mastering new technical abilities, honing your leadership skills, diving deep into industry knowledge, or understanding the company’s strategy on a whole new level. Identify the learning gaps that are holding you back and prioritize filling them in.

Don’t let your ego or complacency get in the way.

Get comfortable asking for help. When you step into unfamiliar terrain, you’re bound to have knowledge blind spots. And that’s perfectly okay! Don’t hesitate to ask questions, lean on your mentors and peers, and learn from the collective experience of your team.

Surrounding yourself with sharp minds who can guide you is of utmost importance. You don’t have to tackle this journey alone. Collaboration with colleagues who know the ropes can make a world of difference. Listening is just as important as seeking help. That inner voice always wanting to prove how smart you are? Quiet it down. Stay open and humble and put your pride aside.

It is ok to make many mistakes. Many times, you likely will repeat them too. The key is how we react when know we could have done better. That is the most important thing. Making mistakes is being human.

I am so glad I am not in a medical career. As you move up in organizational responsibilities this becomes harder and harder. Be patient. There are many days after my 1:1 with my manager that I feel so depressed. Why did make the same mistake again? My manager is patient though. That is what I need to be. I need to learn from it, identify my triggers, identify gaps in my preparations, and I got at it again.

It’s about more than just skill-building, too. Higher roles affect your sense of autonomy, belonging, and competence. Pay close attention to how these fundamental needs are impacted and make necessary adjustments to stay motivated.

Perhaps you need more control over your schedule now. Maybe you miss the camaraderie of your old team. It could even be that imposter syndrome is gnawing away at your confidence. Confront these issues head-on and don’t downplay the psychological impact of a promotion. Self-awareness is key to navigating these challenges before they affect your performance.

In a nutshell, beating the Peter Principle begins with you. Recognize when your skills fall short, prioritize learning and growth, rely on others to fill your gaps, listen, and remain humble. Pay attention to your psychological needs, and you’ll stay competent, engaged, and firmly on the road to success. Now, embrace the challenge and show the world what you’re made of!

Commit to continuous learning. Until next time, cheers,

Amit

Please say hi here or connect with me on LinkedIn!

--

--