Prioritizing Ownership

Amitabh Ghosh
Leader Circle
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2024

I learned the power of single-threaded ownership during my time at a tech startup. My boss assigned me a project with a clear objective: build a new feature for our website. At first, I felt overwhelmed. But then, I discovered the magic of single-threaded ownership.

Taking complete control of the project, I made every decision. I researched, designed, coded, and tested the feature. I had to learn fast. There was no one to rely on but myself. This pushed me to think creatively and solve problems independently. I couldn’t just pass the buck; I owned it.

The tech industry values this approach. Companies like Amazon and Google use single-threaded ownership. They believe it leads to better outcomes. When one person owns a project, they have clear accountability. It speeds up decision-making and reduces confusion.

In my case, the project was a success. The feature launched on time and users loved it. My confidence soared. I realized I could handle bigger challenges. The experience taught me the importance of taking ownership. It fosters a sense of responsibility and drives innovation.

Single-threaded ownership scales beyond individual projects. In larger organizations, entire domains or functional areas can be owned by one leader. This leader oversees the domain and has many team leaders under them, each owning pieces of the domain. This structure ensures clarity and accountability at every level.

For example, imagine a tech company with a single-threaded owner for its e-commerce platform. This leader is responsible for the entire platform’s success. They make strategic decisions and drive the vision. Under them, there are leaders for various components: payment systems, user experience, and logistics. Each leader owns their piece, ensuring their part aligns with the overall strategy.

This scaled approach of single-threaded ownership ensures that every part of the organization moves in harmony. It empowers leaders to take full responsibility for their areas, fostering a culture of accountability and high performance.

Embrace single-threaded ownership in your work and organization. Own your projects fully and encourage others to do the same. You’ll grow, learn, and achieve more than you ever thought possible.

Until, next time, Cheers,
Amit

Please say hi here or connect with me on LinkedIn!

--

--