Who am I? Past’s Victim or Creator of Future Selves

Amitabh Ghosh
Leader Circle
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2024

I used to see myself as a victim of my past. I tended to view myself primarily as someone who had been harmed by negative experiences. But recently, I asked myself some important questions. Should I focus more on my present and future selves? Should I look at myself as the creator of my current situation?

Rather than listening to inner monologues from the past, I decided to prioritize fresh actions based on present dialogues. I chose to hit the reset button — to see the world through the hopeful eyes of a recent graduate.

Over the years, I developed strong opinions that I relied on for guidance, with the help of many supportive people and circumstances. In building that perspective, I also built an image of what help should look like in the future.

When today does not match my past expectations and needs, clinging to them means I’m stuck in history. I realized I needed to start fresh. I decided to approach life open to learning, seeing everyone as potential helpers. I turned off the criticizing inner voice to focus on each real conversation. I regained the excitement of a creator visualizing the future.

I asked myself, could I let go of old assumptions and rediscover the world? Could I build connections through open and positive communication? Could I shape my life’s path by prioritizing human dignity and mutual understanding?

The past can’t be changed, but the present and future are mine to design. I choose to create, not criticize. I act to understand, not react with assumptions. I open my eyes each morning ready to learn. I build bridges, not barriers.

With thoughtful self-reflection, I moved forward. I defined myself not by past pain but by the person I strive to become. I awakened my vision for contributing to human progress.

The path requires continually hitting reset — rediscovering people and possibilities with an open heart. My past gives context but does not define me. I walk each day as the creator of my future self.

Would you consider it? Could you hit reset?

Until next time, Cheers,

Amit

Please say hi here or connect with me on LinkedIn!

--

--