You can’t do what you think is impossible

Amitabh Ghosh
Leader Circle
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2024

Our journey often comes down to your mindset. There’s truth in the saying, “You can’t do what you think is impossible.” You must open to paths not taken before. You must choose vulnerability.

When doubts about our abilities creep in, we place mental barriers in our way. If we stay trapped as prisoners of those assumptions, our growth gets limited. I’ve seen it happen, both personally and professionally.

It’s a self-fulfilling prophecy thing. What we believe about ourselves influences how we act. Then things play out accordingly. Pretty crazy when you think about it!

But we can break this cycle. How? Consciously swap those negative doubtful thoughts for positive ones. Easier said than done of course!

I can write so many observations on this. For here I will take a simple one. As a people manager, I oversee other managers too. I’ve noticed some leaders get worried if I talk directly to folks in their teams. Even just basic check-ins. They close themselves in. Yes, we must all avoid randomization. That is not what I am talking about.

I personally love it when my own manager can feel comfortable reaching out to my directs to get information directly. Even can choose to brainstorm on a topic and validate options. To me, it shows trust. The same happens with many leaders within my Org if I reach out to their team members. They know I won’t surprise them when I speak with their team. That’s how you know you’ve built an awesome team with leaders.

Again, I don’t mean randomly overstepping. But such validated contact relieves me. I must have faith in the competencies and judgment of my direct team members. That’s the ultimate win as a manager. And what better way to learn if I have gaps to address? None of us are perfect, there is no perfect organization. I would rather find opportunities, will accept them as facts, acknowledge them, and work on them proactively. If I believe I am always best and I took all the perfect actions within my team — Really?

However, I’ve spotted a behavior emerging when someone lacks confidence. If I reach out to their report, they get worried. They question me about it afterward. Some fret for days if I request a team meeting, no matter how normal. They feel the need to guard their people closely.

When a one-level-up leader checks in directly suddenly, self-doubts arise for these individuals. Thoughts spiral about what they did wrong as a leader. They fail to see it as trusted validation. They see it only as their shortcoming. Then they overcompensate by micro-managing or inserting themselves in everything.

Embracing positivity isn’t denying real challenges. It means believing in your ability to tackle obstacles head-on.

Our path to success starts with our mindset. Don’t let negative assumptions and self-doubts bind you. Open up to possibilities instead of shutting down and trying to control everything out of fear. That vulnerability is true power!

Till next time, Cheers,
Amit

Please say hi here or connect with me on LinkedIn!

--

--