Leadership story: How to introduce your team.

Michael.Wai thinks…
Leaders’ Tank
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2023
Photo by Alexandre Pellaes on Unsplash

“Drum roll, please….”

No, this is not how you introduce your team to a bigger audience unless you are in the episode of “The Office”.

I was giving a speech to our partners and customers at our company’s customer appreciation day, I told the audience before I ended the presentation that I would like to tell a joke.

For those who have heard the joke, please bear with me” as I began.

One afternoon, as Einstein and his driver were headed to yet another lecture in yet another college lecture hall, Einstein had this idea.

Speaking to his driver, Einstein said, “I really don’t feel up to giving my lecture tonight. Why don’t you deliver it? ”

“ Me? ” gasped the shocked driver.

“Yes,” replied Einstein.

“You have heard me give it scores of time. I’m sure you must have it memorised by now. ”

“ What if there are questions? ” asked the driver.

“ There are never any questions, are there? There is nothing to worry about,” returned Einstein.

So be it.

They changed clothes and switched roles. Einstein put on the driver’s cap.

On arriving at campus, they received a warm welcome as a famous Physicist, and Einstein tagged along.

The lecture went beautifully, as Einstein knew it would.

At the end of the lecture the driver made a tiny mistake by asking the audience, “is there any question?

It went silence for a minute but finally, a man stood up and asked a question about an obscure point of the theory of relativity.

The driver looked at Einstein with fear in his eyes but then regained his composure, began to smile and looking directly at the gentleman replied,

“ That question is a very simple indeed.”

Then he gestured to Einstein, who was at the back of the hall dressed in his driver’s clothes, and continued,

“ In fact, that is such a simple question that even my driver can answer!”

Laughter from my audience and I continued,

“I would like to introduce you to my drivers – the real Einsteins”

I named every team member, introduced each of their background, and their area of achievement in product management, marketing, sales, customer service etc.

I concluded, “Thanks for making me the Einstein in disguise in front of all of you, thank you for their hard work and the countless lectures they have given me in the past.”

is there any question?

Please share different ideas about the best way to recognize the team and make some claps if you like this kind of content.

I highly recommend to read my another article about creativity, hope it will help to spark more ideas!

Wish you a nice day! :)

--

--

Michael.Wai thinks…
Leaders’ Tank

Passion in tech + leadership! Aim to share my experiences, explore leadership skills, and inspire coding for everyone, one article at a time.