Mike Mcdonald
Leadership and Succession
2 min readSep 22, 2017

--

Developing Leadership Skills

Hello, my name is Mike McDonald, I am a junior standing student at the University at Buffalo. I am currently enrolled in the Business Administration program studying two concentrations; International Business, and Supply Chains & Operations Management. I want to use this blog as a medium for my research as I explore the different soft skills of leadership. While learning the ins and outs of leadership, I want to research how these specific skills can manipulate our performance in the workplace.

So what soft skills collectively make up the skill of leadership? Fortunately, the top ten soft skills of leadership are very easy to find with a simple google search. Ten of the top leadership soft skills go as follows;

1. Communication

2. Motivation

3. Delegating

4. Positivity

5. Trustworthiness

6. Creativity

7. Feedback

8. Responsibility

9. Commitment

10. Flexibility

This list was published on The Balance by Alison Doyle, last updated June 8th, 2017.

Observing this basic list provides a good introduction and/or foundation to build ideas off. A common theme in my philosophy of work statement is that we all have the choice to be optimistic or happy with the work we do. My goal is to point out how between being an optimistic, and future oriented individual correlates with these ten soft skills. How can improving on these skills better prepare me for a successful career? And how will this assignment have an impact on my philosophy of work?

In addition to this research assignment, I would also like to address my involvement on campus. Over the next couple of weeks, I will include some of the experiences I’ve had or yet to have. I notice as I progress into higher level courses, common themes are shared among them. The lessons I have learned in one class can be applied to a lesson I am having in another class. One common lesson is the building and growth of our personal skill set. I am eager to see where my research leads.

Doyle, A. (n.d.). Top 10 Leadership Skills Employers Look For. Retrieved September 21, 2017, from https://www.thebalance.com/top-leadership-skills-2063782

--

--