Poem: Letter To My Protégé

Chika Ebuzor
Leadership Class
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2018

--

Image Credit: QuickBase

Dear Protégé,

When we began this journey, and I held your hands and urged you on, I knew it felt hard, but you needed the push, so you can sojourn on your own when the time comes.

I urged you on, because I saw the future, I saw a vision of a better plain. It burned in my heart.

I tried to paint the picture, because words failed me to describe the beauty of the future we belong, so I decided to take you along.

Along to this place that burns in my heart with a heat so intense, hoping that you will catch the fire and fan the flames within you.

The flame consumes self and produces a zeal for service. It burns pride to ashes.

Yes! I see the frown on your face, and sometimes, the confusing silent questions in your heart. I know you wonder if I ever feel fear or if I ever get tired. Yes, I do.

I nurse my wounds in the silence of the dark and fight the demons of fear that want to throw me out of this path of destiny when the curtains are down and the lights fade, but a leader does not infect his followers with his fear.

I know that you get scared and weary sometimes, that is why I slow down to hold your hands and reassure you of the power that lies in you.

Always remember the picture of the beautiful future. Only the daring reach there.

This journey is not for me alone, though I can, but I will not, because I gain nothing If I go on my own. My joy and gain is complete when we win together.

We will stride through the odds, and though we might disagree sometimes, know that my desire is always to help you grow and bring out the best in you.

I will always look out for your good.

Best Regards,

Your Mentor.

--

--