Emotional Intelligence & Mission Command

Jonathan Silk
Center for Junior Officers
3 min readApr 16, 2015

--

This past week I was at the 2015 Leader Development Rendezvous hosted by the Center for the Advancement of Leader Development and Organizational Learning (CALDOL)where MAJ Ryan Kranc gave a leadership talk on the connection between Emotional Intelligence and Mission Command. Here are his comments on how he arrived at this philosophy and the importance of having a personal leadership philosophy.

“Leaders develop their own leadership philosophy based upon their education, experiences and outside study. My personal leadership philosophy developed over time and is influenced by those I have been led by and observed. Experiential learning and observation is augmented by study and reading on the leadership philosophies of others. Though an incomplete list, my personal philosophy of leadership is influenced by Winston Churchill, Bill Walsh, Toby Green, David Marquet, Christopher Hickey, Pete Carroll, George Patton, David Teeples, Theodore Roosevelt, Tony Aguto, John Wooden, H.R. McMaster, Josh Byers, John Bowman, Ori Brafman, Judah Pollack, Dean Nowowiejski, Mike Reidmuller, Ed Daly, Terry Ferrell, Jeff Melinger, Steve Boyle, Monte Kohler, Tal Haas, my faith, my parents, and, most importantly, my wife. This is a collection of political and military leaders, coaches (both professional and little league coaches I learned from), pastors, teachers, friends, and family. Ultimately my ability to change an organization fundamentally starts with me. It starts with me.”

Reflecting on his talk and looking at the diagrams he drew below I made the connection myself. As I wrote previously Emotional Intelligence is our aptitude for recognizing our own feelings and those of others, for motivating ourselves, and for managing emotions effectively in ourselves and those around us to include those we lead.

I took away that like leadership, being emotionally intelligent starts with me. I need to understand the impact I have on others, whether positive or negative. Using the emotional intelligent capabilities of self-awareness, self-management, social awareness, and social skill in coaching, mentoring or counseling will build relationships, which leads to trust, both personal and professional, and that is directly connected to the Mission Command leadership philosophy.

It Starts with Me!

Jonathan is an experienced leader and coach with a proven record of leading and developing others to perform at higher levels and improve their overall effectiveness. He has a passion for learning and developing others to improve as leaders. Jonathan brings lessons from experience leading in U.S. Army Infantry, Cavalry, and Armor units in a wide range of assignments, to include leading soldiers in Iraq, Afghanistan, and Korea. He is a decorated veteran and a recipient of the General Douglas MacArthur Leadership Award. Jonathan served as a faculty member at the United States Military Academy at West Point, NY before transitioning from the Army in 2015. He is a certified Executive Coach and operates his own leadership coaching business. Check out his website here: http://www.quicksmartsleadership.com

--

--

Jonathan Silk
Center for Junior Officers

Experienced Organizational Leader, Positve Organizational Scholar and Doctoral Student at Pepperdine, Leadership Coach, Iraq & Afghan Vet, LEADERSHIP COUNTS!