Raman Sandhu
Leadership.liveit
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2017

--

Introvert leaders at workplace

Individuals who are introverts can be great leaders in organizations because of strengths that allow them to stay focused for a long time. Since I am introvert myself and I have had a great journey to become a leader, which I thought to share here. The interesting thing about this is that you don’t actually have to learn to become like extravert to become a great leader instead you just have to use your strengths.

Reflecting on my own personality, I am a focused person; I like to do things on my own way and on my own time. Being in groups drains the energy out of me. Not saying that I don’t ever go to parties or socialize. I prefer listening to talking; deep meaningful conversation, and sitting alone in room refresh myself. In last few days, at my job I have been watching my own behavior and how it is beneficial toward being successful.

What I noticed since I am good listener other people really like to share their thoughts with me. I can learn a lot about them really fast without even sharing much about me. This is really helpful because in the organization it’s important for your team to share their thoughts with you. When you learn about other it helps to build stronger relationships in the organization. Introverts also don’t like using their power as being a boss; normally you keep yourself on the same level as everyone else so you know exactly how things are going. This is something that not only your team will like but it also gives you the opportunity as a leader to get others honest opinions and perspectives. All this information can help to build a better strategy to reach the common goal. At my job, I have been training a new employee and what I learned was, she felt really comfortable with me from her first day. Instead of just telling her stuff to do I made sure she watched me first and then I let her try. This goes back to leaders don’t boss around instead lead by example.

I also found this great TedTalk video on the topic on introvert, which I listened to before writing this blog, and it helped me to get my thoughts together. I will post link to it if anyone interested listening to it:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0KYU2j0TM4&t=904s

--

--