People ignore the growth Tips and your supportive hand again and again….What you do?

Rajasekhar Reddy [Raj]
Leadership-Management Tips
3 min readJul 22, 2019

Just about 2 days back, I had a different experience with 2 of employees working under me. Almost decided, they won’t be improve and should move on with others…but then something went through my mind.

Let me give you a brief about these duo,

One is fresher & another one is experienced into Sales previously. They mostly handle the Marketing and Sales part of our startup. There main goal is

to become very well with Digital marketing and grow in the career.

Couple of months back, when I interviewed them, they were looking for growth but not much ambitious. Still I have selected them, because they have skill set and if one thing is brought into their life, they will be awesome at their work and career.

That one thing is discipline, to learn & grow.

These guys are really good when I do the analysis and ask them to implement it then they will finish it.

But, I wanted them to move up the ladder by start analyzing, how I understand the requirement? how I look at the issues & solution? and how I learn from the mistakes?

Because I do the same.

I observe the people, learn from my mistakes and I want to be a better my things than yesterday.

This is a bit background, so that you can understand the what I have gone through 2 days back.

As usual, we were working on few marketing things and couple of signups to be happened, but I observed that we were loosing out time because of few silly mistakes. These mistakes were repeated again and again. I was guiding them on,

How I don’t want them to do everything? instead focus on what yields the most results in a day. How they can reduce their work? etc. but nope.

They had repeated the same miss-out and that’s it, I have busted out my disappointment. Explaining how, I see no progress in their skill set and questioned how serious are they about improving their career?.

I have even said, if they are not willing to grow then I can pickup somebody else. Also, I can’t dedicate my time on somebody who doesn’t want to grow in life. Because I have a business to run, dreams to chase..,………Continued.It was a preaching session with loud voice and my emotions were clearly visible.

I was so serious that,I have asked my other colleagues to see if we can bring in some other person into the team or not. [I know those 2 guys will read this post but want to be myself here. Honestly]

Day has passed with further discussions.

Then, I was pondering, should I give up on them or continue to push them forward.

thoughts were flowing,

- we are a startup and time is more than money. Am I wasting my time on them? Should I move on with new person into the team?

- Why these guys don’t take things seriously?

- They have skills, but what makes them to ignore these little important enhancement for their career growth?

I can clearly say, its a fight between mind & heart.

I couldn’t take away those thoughts through out the day. Finally I followed my heart.

I have decided to give more & more learning for them to grow.

I think of my self as a leader then, how can I give up? Should come up with more new methods to help such people.

See, this is not kindness or anything, I won’t expect any appreciations from anyone for this act. I do this only for myself , Because

“I am a leader and I am here to lead the people around me to be their best self”

Give more …Give more….Give more…..for people to learn and grow.

This is what the experience taught me and made me.

--

--

Rajasekhar Reddy [Raj]
Leadership-Management Tips

I am a startup guy, working for shaping my dreams into reality. I am running towards it…