Bibliotherapy, CBT & Journaling

tarun bhatt
Leaky-Bucket

--

Write your garbage. Trust me, there is a lot of it.

Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

I am a big fan of Journaling. It helps me go through a phase where destiny tests my rock bottom now and then. But how does it work?

Journal writing helps in getting rid of the garbage inside our heads. I wrote on this point by talking about an experiment called DES (Descriptive Experience Sampling), invented by Russel Hulburt. I take pride in being curious and mindful of things around me. Hence it didn’t surprise me when a cursory look at the concepts of Bibliotherapy prompted me to experiment with my practice of Journaling.

What is Bibliotherapy?

Dictionary Meaning

Bibliotherapy uses book reading to treat patients with mental health issues. These books should relate closely to the problem at hand & can do wonders with other therapies like Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Schema Therapy & Psychodynamic Psychotherapy.

According to the world’s most extensive study on Rest, i.e., The Rest Test, most people rated ‘Book Reading’ as the most relaxing activity.

--

--

tarun bhatt
Leaky-Bucket

Learning to write and share. #ITNerd #MentalHealthAdvocate #MenRightsActivist #ToastMaster #PublicSpeaker