No, one week still have only 7 days!

Lean In Women in Startups. A story by Karen Jean-Francois

dimple
Lean In: Women In Startups
2 min readNov 27, 2016

--

Karen Jean-Francois

A couple of months ago I became very frustrated at work due to the incredible workload that was being pushed on to me. It felt like the account manager’s only objectives were to keep the clients happy, ensuring the cash flow level wasn’t compromised all at my cost or without thinking how realistic it would be to attain this along with other things on my plate. Ironically, this is a result of them not saying ‘no’!

This behaviour kept repeating time after time and I realised that this was because of me; I was not saying ‘no’ and it became the norm for the account team. I noticed this not only at work but in my personal life too. Fundamentally I was promoting this behaviour in others by not saying ‘no’.

Why was I so reluctant to say ‘no’? I searched within myself and came to the realisation that I had a fear of saying ‘no’ because of how I thought it reflected on me. I felt bad and guilty saying ‘no’ fearing that others would perceive me as difficult, bad at my job, unable to manage my workload and myself and ultimately making me unlikeable!

I now realise that always saying yes has a negative impact on my life and on my relationship with others.

Indeed, I am overloaded with work and activities, and wish there were nine days in a week. Nonetheless, saying ‘yes’ all the time results in a decrease in the quality of the work I produce, poor focus, and the lack of time to focus on myself. Eventually, I feel unhappy and become anxious. Moreover, not saying ‘no’ will lead to a lack of respect and trust from people around me.

Writing this post is my first step towards saying ‘no’ because I see my inability to say no as a restraint and want things to change. It is not going to be easy and it will take some time but I am determined to do my best.

About Karen

A Data Analyst who moved from Paris to London just under 3 years ago. I am passionate about education and helping less advantaged young individuals. This lead me to start TPJG, a charity that aims to help Guadeloupean children developing the skills they will need tomorrow.

--

--

dimple
Lean In: Women In Startups

From hospitality to DeFi's dive, my path's a novel. Founder turned crypto enthusiast, sharing insights on sound money, economics, and life's gambles 🌊💡