Inspiring Inclusion : Reflections on International Women’s Day

Devi Anantharaman
Lean In Women In Tech India
3 min readMar 15, 2024

🌟 As we reflect on International Women’s Day (IWD) and its theme this year — **Inspire Inclusion** — I find myself drawn to two questions: What inspires me, and how can I inspire inclusion around me?

Taking a trip down memory lane to my childhood days in Trivandrum, Kerala, I am reminded of the remarkable women who shaped my early years: my mother and aunt, both dedicated professionals in the banking sector. Despite the absence of modern conveniences like childcare facilities, transportation and mobile phones, they navigated the complexities of balancing their careers with familial responsibilities with grace and resilience. My aunt’s exemplary performance in banking exams propelled her career growth, while my mother, undeterred by societal norms, became one of the first women in our locality to master driving a two-wheeler, thereby easing her commute and inspiring other women to do the same.

Their stories of determination and perseverance left an indelible mark on me, igniting my own aspirations to pursue a career. However, as a child, I often yearned for my mother’s presence after school, longing for her to serve hot meals and share in my daily experiences. Yet, amidst the jokes within our family about their motivations, it became clear that their dedication to their careers stemmed from a desire for autonomy and independence.

Over the years, I have been approached by numerous women, particularly guilt-ridden young mothers, seeking advice on how to balance career aspirations with family commitments. These encounters prompted me to reflect on my own journey and the techniques that have enabled me to maintain a fulfilling career while nurturing a family. Through my experiences in the corporate sector, I have had the privilege of inspiring fellow women who resonate with my journey, encouraging them to persevere despite the odds stacked against them.

As an engineering leader, this is how I inspire inclusion within my teams:

1. Leading by example: Demonstrate inclusivity in my actions, decisions, and communication.

2. Creating a supportive environment: Foster an atmosphere where everyone feels valued and respected.

3. Encouraging diverse perspectives: Actively seek input from team members with different backgrounds and experiences.

4. Providing mentorship and support: Offer guidance and opportunities for career development to women in my team.

5. Advocating for diversity initiatives: Champion policies and programs that promote diversity and inclusion within the organization.

6. Celebrating achievements: Recognize and celebrate the contributions of women and underrepresented groups in your team.

7. Addressing bias and discrimination: Address any instances of bias or discrimination promptly and constructively.

8. Building networks: Connect with other women in engineering and tech to share experiences and support each other’s growth.

However, my reflections on International Women’s Day extend beyond individual achievements to the broader imperative of fostering inclusion and diversity across all levels of society. The need for gender diversity in the workplace is undeniable, and it is incumbent upon each of us to contribute to this collective endeavor. By sharing our stories, offering support and mentorship, and advocating for inclusive policies, we can create environments where all individuals, regardless of gender, feel empowered to thrive.

As we commemorate International Women’s Day and embrace its theme of **Inspire Inclusion**, let us reaffirm our commitment to championing diversity, equity, and inclusion in every aspect of our lives. Together, we can inspire a future where inclusion is not just a theme for a day but a lived reality for all.

Don’t think about making women fit the world — think about making the world fit women.” — Gloria Steinem, American Journalist & Social-political Activist

Preethi Guruswamy Sobhitha Neelanath Deeksha Jaiswal Devi Anantharaman Surabhi Kumari Shilpi Mitra

--

--