Happy Women’s day!

Wishing you all an empowering International Women’s Day!

A movement originally started by Sheryl Sandberg, Lean In has outstretched its bounds and now is a Global Community. So, on this International Women’s day, it is my pleasure to share with you the story of Lean In Women in Tech India.

The book Lean In is a very impactful piece of work and has inspired me greatly. Not only did it bring about change in me for the better, it also helped build strong and innovative leadership skills as I dealt with Lean In Communities. Further on, it has provided me with opportunities to fuel my passion of supporting and encouraging ambitious women in technology from various backgrounds ranging from working women in tech, campus women in tech, women returners in tech, etc. I truly believe that by encouragement and promotion, these women’s productivity and hence engagement in business will increase tenfold.

Co-founding the Hexagon UX community as well as being a founding member & Chapter leader for Lean In Bangalore, I have been well acquainted with the building of these communities over the span of a few years. My whole-hearted involvement in these communities started from the commencement of their existence and reflected in its continuous growth. Since I was always keen on building and gathering a Women in Tech community , last year, in order to fulfill my ambition I had to hand over my responsibility of Lean In Bangalore and Hexagon UX to its co-chairs. This enabled me to divert my focus and invest my time in building Women in Tech India, a community to support all expertise and functions in software technology. I am aware of the challenges women have to face in Silicon Valley both in India and the US, having worked with many of them, which helps me understand the value of their work and significant impact they create to business. Today, it’s been six months into this journey; it is my humble pleasure to say that Lean In Women in Tech India is an active community of over 300 folks across the globe. This would not have been possible without my team who believe in my mission as much as I do.

I am grateful to have such a strong team, kudos to their work!

#LeanInTogether

Core Team

  • Bhavana Moini — Web Designer & Content Editor

Lean In WiTI Publication Editor

The team could never be complete without Debo Harris, who has been mentoring me and a vital part of the team since its inception.

#PressforProgress #IWD18

Lean In Women In Technology India (WITI) focuses on the technology sector specifically as compared to most other organisations that deal with women in general. WiTI is a national movement to advance and empower women in technology to achieve success and equal representation in the technology sector. We currently have global links with sponsors and are looking to represent the men and women in the field. We aim at providing first-hand support to express and promote their circle at the next conference we present. WiTI today offers a platform for women to network with leaders from the industry as well as other community members. As we believe in #Leanintogether, our Lean In WiTI publication enables members to shares their stories, experiences and technical expertise while we handle their promotion. WiTI events provide scope for women with soft skills to network, helping them build their careers, introducing technology in every meet-up. Our #ProudWiTI Series features our role models who share their inspirational messages to all the women in technology.

Together, we have walked great lengths and have witnessed astounding progress to this day, as we look forward to much more to come.

If you are interested and would like to join the chapter and meet great women, sign up!

--

--

Preethi Guruswamy-Executive Coach for Tech Leaders
Lean In Women In Tech India

Preethi helps aspiring leaders unleash their inner wisdom, enhance their presence, lead with EQ, & courage for long-term success. www.preethiguruswamy.com