Leap Reflection

Gaia Adams
LEAP Academy
Published in
2 min readApr 23, 2017

Leap Academy is a program that was founded in Green School Bali, Indonesia. Leap is a way for students to be able to express themselves through education and creativity. In the time of six weeks, students get to choose and design multiple projects that they feel are interesting to them, the students then get to dedicate all of their time and energy on these projects. Without a timetable or schedule students will be more motivated to do work because they get to decide what they are working on.

In total, Leap is, approximately, 168 hours of student-led projects. The projects are all incredibly different and unique in so many ways. Students can pursue anything from taking photos all the way to creating a bamboo bike! In Leap, the possibilities are endless.

Cactus Sticker Set
Birb Sticker Set

Throughout my time in Leap I have focused on furthering my photography. I also co-started an ameature sticker business. For my photography I went out and took photos for 8 hours every week! I took a more than 800 photos!! I took photos on four different cameras and with five different lenses. One of the cameras I used was a film camera. It was a very different and super cool experience. I really enjoyed the challenge of having to plan out all of my photos in advanced and making sure that it was the right lighting. I definitely improved on my photography skills as well as my knowledge on cameras.

Leap is a lot different from my normal school schedule. I really liked the freedom that we had to choose our own projects, however, I wish I had some more structure when it came to deadlines. I didn’t use all of my time as wisely as I should have, I’ll make sure to be more productive the next time I am in Leap. I don’t usually consider myself artistic, so I’m glad that I got to explore my creativity throughout this block.

--

--