Game Developer for a Month

Jorge Garcia
LEAP Vault of Knowledge
2 min readJul 25, 2016
What’s your favorite?

A few weeks ago, Valeria León helped us at LEAP Game Studios as a production intern. This wasn’t her first job, but it was her first contact with the game development world.

We asked her to give us her thoughts on the month she spent with us and here they are:

“Since I was a young girl I have always been attracted to video games.

I mainly blame my family for introducing me, at a very young age, to different consoles like Atari and Nintendo. At first sight, I was automatically hooked to them.

Although I was very passionate, at the time I did not consider the possibility of making it a career. Still being fond of technology I decided to pursue biotechnology.

Now waiting to leave to do a MSc in biomedical and molecular science, I jumped at the opportunity in working at LEAP because of my love for video games.

This past month I have learned a lot about video games. Starting from the background work of what the game is going to be about, to how much time and energy people put into each game. I got to see firsthand the different processes that need to take place so a game is finished.

It was a great experience and I wish I could see each year more women getting involved in it. Maybe in a future I could make it a second career.”

Valeria is about to embark on a trip to continue her education on the field of biomedicine. From everyone at LEAP Game Studios we wish her the best of luck.

--

--