What I Gained From Quitting Instagram?

Fatima Shirazi
Learn and Grow
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2020

I started Instagram back in 2015 and became a complete Insta geek in the following years. With separate public and private accounts, my day was incomplete if I hadn’t have seen all the stories that popped up. But the pandemic changed everything.
I felt like I’ve been wasting too much time surfing on it and wasn’t productive in any sense.
One day I randomly woke up and made a full-fledged planner for the day about the tasks I want to accomplish, and after that, I accidentally spent 2 hours surfing on Instagram without knowing. After coming back to my senses I was exhausted and it was at that moment I decided to quit. Although it was not a permanent decision at that time, I thought I’ll be quitting it for about a month. After a month, I returned back but found nothing interesting as life had offered me so much more outside Instagram that I deleted it again and here I am, living a very happy life.

Here are 4 things I gained from quitting Instagram.
I Came Out Of The Circle Of Instant Gratification
The 21st century has offered us everything instantaneously, from instant noodles to instant likes on our photos, we’ve become less patient and less striving. It was a good practice in our father's age when people worked on a project for a long period and time brought them their results. They practiced patience. Our generation lacks this as we are dopamine addicts, we want and need dopamine after every some time and it makes us less productive because we ain’t spending our time that requires patience to achieve. Quitting Instagram, I overcame my dopamine overdosing as every "like" produces dopamine equal to what smoking a cigarette produce.

I Started Deep Working
With no notifications popping up time and again to diverge my attention to useless food and cool stories, I felt more concentrated on whatever I did. I wrote more, I learned more, I gave time to myself, I watched movies, read books, and played with my siblings. Now I had the urge to work for continuous three to four hours without getting distracted.

I Found The 25th Hour Of My Day
Quitting Instagram felt like I’ve gained so much extra time. As Instagram users, we spend a couple of minutes after every hour checking it, and those minutes combined form hours. To be honest we never calculate this. Now after completing all my daily tasks I’m left with a bunch of hours that I saved from not using Instagram. I come up with new stuff as nature gives us a lot of time for ourselves but for us zombie generation spends every minute of idle time checking someone else’s photograph to get into depression instead of reflecting back on his own life and thinking about improvements.

I Found The Love Of My Life
No wait, I didn’t mean I found the handsome one. But I really mean it when I say I found the love of my life. As now after quitting Instagram I wake up in the morning and say hey to my mom first instead of craving and checking for replies and views on my last Instagram story. I found my parents, I found my family. Though I was living with them even before leaving Instagram I never felt like I was living with them. It was me who one day put my phone aside and started a conversation at the table about random things in life. Just one person quitted this addiction and there was everyone laughing a big laugh on the lunch table every day. We were together. And together we looked beautiful.

Quitting Instagram feels like the best decision I took in life. It made me less of a zombie who’s craving for dopamine and is like an addict whose life revolves around seeing what others do and showing them what I’m doing. It’s sad how we are stuck in a dilemma of 21st century’s modernism and technology that is ruining our intellect. We are becoming instant cravers of information rather than becoming knowledge strivers. Knowledge and information are far away from each other. We are producing shallow work, the work interfered with distraction. We look for attention on social media but never try to find it in our own homes. Pathetic people. Sad generation.

--

--