What is the CIA Model?

Sami Ullah Saleem
Learn and Grow
Published in
2 min readJan 22, 2021

In this article, I am going to talk about the CIA which describes three important goals for cybersecurity. I will talk about AAA Model in my later article.

Your browser does not support this image.

CIA consists of three parts.

1- C stands for Confidentiality

2- I stands for Integrity

3- A stands for Availability

1- Confidentiality:

Confidentiality is concerned with viewing our data. Our data should be visible to those people who are authorized to see it. If unauthorized people see our data. It can cause a lot of problems. We can maintain confidentiality with encryption. I will talk about encryption in my later articles.

2- Integrity:

Integrity is concerned with modification in our data. Our data should be transferred and saved without modification. It can be possible that a man who sees our data can modify it. What will happen if a cracker change will be successful in modifying our health data? We don’t want that change. We can maintain the integrity of our data with Hashing. I will talk about Hashing in my later articles.

3- Availability:

Availability is concerned with the availability of data when it is needed. The users who are authorized to do their jobs should be able to do their work. If we don’t want to become a victim of a DDOS (Distributed Denial Of Service) attack. We should do proper load balancing in the event of a disaster.

Thanks for Reading!
Follow Learn & Grow for more articles on Cyber Security.

--

--

Sami Ullah Saleem
Learn and Grow

👋Assalam O Aliakum! My name is *Sami Ullah Saleem*. I am studying Information Technology. I am a Microsoft Technology Associate and Cyber Security Enthusiast.